We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza, great for a late night meal”

Albie's Pizza & Bar
Ranked #347 of 1,422 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good pizza, great for a late night meal”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Okay so, honestly I thought the pizza would be eh. It was actually very good! We ate here because it was close to the hotel we were staying at (right across the street from Holiday Inn Oceanside) and they were open late.

Our waitress was friendly, and our food came out fast, however for a $20-something check for 2 adults and 2 kids, they auto-add the gratuity (18%, I believe it was), which is not disclosed anywhere in the restaurant— you just find out when you get the check. Somewhat shady business practice, but I guess they must've gotten enough non-tippers to justify their policy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longislandchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    19
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Subs!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This restaurant came recommended by our hotel, Holiday Inn Oceanside. It was across the street and had outside seating for great people watching. I had the chicken parm and it was good. The steak and cheese subs were also very good. We ate at this restaurant 2 times during our trip and it had consistantly good food. The pizza dough was really good and prepared fresh daily.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zmom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Good and the Questionable”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Good: Good NY style pizza and service was very attentive.
The Questionable business practice: No free water. ONLY purchased drinks will be served and no ice tea available.
Also, tip was AUTOMATICALLY added to the tab.

We will NOT be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCraneFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service is NOT GOOD”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

When asked to put tables together the waitress was rude and caught an attitude. We were lied to about the health regulation and, when ordering a water, you are not allowed to order a lemon with it. How are you a restaurant and you can't order lemon with your water?

Helpful?
1 Thank Akiah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but no water?”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited last week while on a short getaway. I was in the mood for some wings, so we stopped in here. My son loves white pizza, which they had on the menu as well. We sat down to look at the menu further and the server took our drink order. I ordered a water and was told they don't have tap water---only bottles. I found this to be quite odd. I have been in the restaurant industry for 20 years and never heard anyone say this before. Do they wash dishes with bottled water?? I'm sure they don't.

The food arrived in a timely manner, and the server was friendly and polite. The wings were great---crispy and meaty, good flavor. The white pizza was good as well.

Overall it was a nice casual dinner. Make sure you pay attention to your bill, as they add an automatic gratuity.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bruhaha904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albie's Pizza & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Albie's Pizza & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing