We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very intimate and lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cobalt Grille

Cobalt Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Cobalt Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 1,413 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: First Colonial
Transit: HRT stops in the Hilltop Shopping Center.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very intimate and lovely restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Would have never discovered this restaurant had I not have a groupon. It is tucked away in the back of a strip mall, surrounded by maternity wear, grocery stores and home decor. Very lovely experience! I had the blackened yellowfin tuna with spaghetti vegetables and portabello fries. We started out with the Caprese which was rich and scrumptious (I wanted to lick the plate). My tuna was meaty and made creamy and tasty with the sauce it came with it. The portabello fries was a delight with the chipotle sauce. Ending our experience we had the coconut bomb cake which was the right combination of sweet and tropical and delicious! Will return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseMel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    47
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
columbia, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You have to eat here if you go to VA beach”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Please ignore the odd location of this restaurant. When you step inside, the decor is beautiful and romantic. Food and service were outstanding.

Our waitress was a 20 year old young lady and was not able to make wine recommendations but the service was still great. I ordered the rockfish special (with crab meat, mashed potatoes, and asparagus). Husband had a burger with portobello mushroom on top. Presentation was great and food was delish. I finished dinner with a flat line (coffee, vodka, baileys) and husband had the bread pudding. Tuesday is half priced burger night. Apparently, this place is known for great cuisine and burgers. Oxymoron right?

Learned about this place from an online deal site. Had a hard time finding it because we are not familiar with the area. The GPS did not help. Called and they told us the big box stores to look for. Made a reservation for 6pm. The restaurant was 3/4 full. By the time we left, there was a wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in Virginia Beach”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Cobalt is one of the best at the beach. Service and staff are very attentive and knowledgeable, and I cannot say enough about the food. Great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank squirrely1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had wonderful drinks and food. Burgers were half off on Tuesday. It is on the pricey side if you aren't getting the burgers. Drinks were $12.00 which for us seems extremely high. Not sure if that is the regular price around here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is consistently the best restaurant we go to in Virginia Beach. The special offerings are always outstanding, however the regular menu items are always great and consistent. The best kept secret around are the burgers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tfaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobalt Grille also viewed

 

Been to Cobalt Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing