We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun, Great Food, But Slow”

Otani Steak & Seafood
Ranked #588 of 1,431 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Fun, Great Food, But Slow”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We ordered the scallops, beef (my son said it was filet mignon) and two orders orders of chicken as well as steamed and fried rice. The food was excellent and the chef was very entertaining and talented. But, it took a long time before the food was made. I don't blame the wait on the chef, but the management. Since we did enjoy everything once it was underway, we would eat here again. We would just choose a less busy time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Similar to Benihana's”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Love it. Very good food. We came from out of town and thought it was similar to a Benihana's.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jessica_146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dirty, Sticky floors, Dark dark rooms- 2 star rating means not worth going back.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We are from the VB area and grew up eating at Shogun when it was the first and original hibachi place in the area. Everything gets compared to that restaurant. We live in the DC area and enjoying eating out all the time as well...so maybe we're picky. Overall the food was like any other hibachi place. We got chicken and shrimp and filet and shrimp. Sushi was so ordered by some of the other people we were with. Chicken and shrimp was good and filet was tender; however later that night the person that got the filet was having some GI issues. The vegetables were ok- bland. You do get a good portion size of food though. The two sauces were ok. The one that looked creamy tasted like Chickfila's Special sauce- a creamy ketchup and mayo type mix. I've tasted better sauces at other places. The other teriyaki type one was good. The reason why food is rated a 2 star was bc someone had GI issues after he meal.

The atmosphere is why I really am rating it a 1-2 stars. It was so dark in there that if a rat or roach were to have run across you in front of you or on the carpet you would not have seen it. I can understand dimming the lights for a romantic ambiance, but it was so dark you had to put the menu up close to read it. The only lights were the ones above the grill. So other lights were on. Strange. Almost makes you think what the heck are they hiding? Although the carpet was so sticky throughout the whole place that I don't think they clean the floors at all!! My flip flops were sticking so bad that I almost lost my shoe. Funny but gross. We sat in the corner next to the fire exit door and there was so much grease and dust that had accumulated on the door handles that it was disgusting. Even with it being dark we could see that. It was like They didn't clean anything and all the grease settled on the carpet, doors etc.. The bathrooms were dark also (men's was dark, women's was lit).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hokie4beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun place to dine -”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Big portions - great to split. Fun with a group. Kids love it but can get pricey -

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCSVirginiaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VB
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Hampton Roads”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Kyoto in Chesapeake is a close second, but Otani is just the best. Great flavors, awesome vegetable tempura and they even serve a frozen yogurt after the meal (green tea and mango are pretty strong fyi-the chocolate was very much like chocolate frozen yogurt). Go and enjoy-you'll get more than your money's worth here.

Helpful?
Thank JustAnotherFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otani Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Otani Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing