We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tautogs Restaurant

Tautogs Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tautog's Restaurant is a casual dining establishment featuring exceptional fish and seafood entree's soups, salads, sandwiches and desserts...Served by the friendliest people in town. Sunday - Wednesday we serve dinner from 5:00 p.m. until 10 p.m., then offer a late night menu until 11:00 p.m. Thursday - Saturday we serve dinner from 5:00 p.m. until 11 p.m., then offer a late night menu until 1:00 a.m.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a must!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent seafood, fun local service. great atmosphere, casual. a must if staying in virginia beach even if youre not staying in virginia beach, prices are reasonable

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank campstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    342
    132
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly, Highly Overrated!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I don't know if we just had a bad experience, but if this is the #12 rated restaurant in Virginia Beach the city is in Big Trouble

We couldn't get in the other day, after reading the reviews and being 1st timers, we decided to head there for dinner, but there was a 45 minute wait, and we have two little kids that don't do well waiting, so we moved on. Today we camped out 30 minutes before opening so we would be assured to get in, after all, the reviews made it out to be a can't miss....

Well it turned out to be a strikeout, from the service, where I had to ask for three refills to the Crab Nachos that had baked on cheese and little to no crab, it was the worst dining experience we have had in years.

The server talked to us like we were in a funeral home -- you could not understand a word he said. The entrees were just OK, like something totally average you could get anywhere. 12 people walked by us as I held the check presenter up to pay our bill as our server had seemed to disappear.

I don't know what more to say...I hate giving bad reviews, but there is NO WAY in the world this restaurant should be ranked anywhere near the top in Virginia Beach.

Do NOT waste your time or money on this one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Interesting restaurant in an old house. Get there at least by 5:15 if you want a seat without a long wait. Food was good and the service was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 30mark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Time and again, I venture to Virginia Beach and always drop by Tautogs. I rarely venture away from the chef's special, although many other items on the menu that I've tried are tasty as well. Crab dip is wonderful as an appetizer and the wahoo and grouper are both delicious. Friendly staff and a great value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The waiter was friendly and attentive, the food was decent for the price and I would probably go back, no complaints just nothing crazy

Helpful?
Thank Stefano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tautogs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tautogs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing