We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average food in a fun location”
Review of Tautogs Restaurant

Tautogs Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tautog's Restaurant is a casual dining establishment featuring exceptional fish and seafood entree's soups, salads, sandwiches and desserts...Served by the friendliest people in town. Sunday - Wednesday we serve dinner from 5:00 p.m. until 10 p.m., then offer a late night menu until 11:00 p.m. Thursday - Saturday we serve dinner from 5:00 p.m. until 11 p.m., then offer a late night menu until 1:00 a.m.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than average food in a fun location”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A local recommended this place to us and we were so glad. We're here in the off-season and while most restaurants near the boardwalk are pretty dead, Tautog's was lively and a lot of fun. You can tell this is a locals hangout. Great ambiance, and you can dress however you want-- some were in shorts and some in dresses and button-downs. The food is better than average but not great, but that's OK. (Although dessert was fabulous: key lime pie, and we thought the wine and beer were nicely priced.) We'll definitely come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    372
    145
    52
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food with great service.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The food here is great! The special was a North Carolina crab stuffed flounder. Excellent service as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Seafood, Great Value, Knowledgeable Staff”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I will begin by saying my husband and I ate dinner here back to back evenings, that's how good it was! Very unassuming building, you wouldn't know this hidden treasure from the outside appearance. She Crab soup- must have. Crab Nachos- definite. Tuna melt- out of this world. Chocolate Tautog- if you have room in your tummy after all the awesome seafood, splurge and get this dish. If you are a wine person, Tautogs has an extensive wine menu and your wait staff will be happy to assist you in choosing the right paring for your food choices.
Can't close this review without giving a shout out to the staff at Tautogs- knowledgeable and so friendly, our waitress knew not only the menu well but knew when certain fish would be in season, how they were prepared, and where they would be caught. Will be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asmnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Local's Choice”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a quiet unassuming restaurant that is a best kept secret of VA Beach. It opens at 5:30 p.m. , and people are willing to wait to get in, the restaurant is actually a converted house and it does not look like a restaurant from the street, so go by the address, the menu is posted outside. The service was excellent, the staff friendly and courteous, and the food was a good value for the money. My husband had a turkey wrap with cranberry mayo, and a side of rice pilaf ( a little underdone), with a cup of chicken, potato and rosemary soup (excellent). I had a seared tuna steak-med-sandwich, it was cooked perfectly, very tasty with homemade chips seasoned with Old Bay. Overall it was a very enjoyable dining experience. The bar seems to be well stocked and a huge wine list classifes their selections according to reds and whites with the origens of each. The only disappointment was the lack of VA wines, we believe in supporting local industry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff, Warm Atmosphere, Good, Not Great, Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family enjoyed our dinner at Tautogs, but we were somewhat let down by the food. The quality was good and the meal was fine, but based on the reviews, we were expecting a bit more wow and creativity to the food. You will have a nice meal here though and we do recommend that you give it a try.

We were bowled over by the staff and patrons. Everyone we met in the restaurant was really nice. There was a bit of a wait to get a table and we enjoyed talking to other people out on the patio. The wait staff were wonderful, and very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine selections.

Overall, I would go back to Tautogs because I would get a solid dinner from nice people in a relaxing place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52marv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tautogs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tautogs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing