We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterman's Surfside Grille

Waterman's Surfside Grille
Ranked #5 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Description: Waterman's Surfside Grille captures a slice of coastal living for the true flavor of Virginia Beach! Family owned and operated since 1981, Waterman's serves only the freshest seafood, steaks, and ribs. Serving lunch and dinner daily and brunch on Sundays, we offer indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the ocean, as well as a patio boardwalk bar. It's not a trip to Waterman's without a taste of our signature She Crab Soup and Original Orange Crush cocktail!
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This restaurant is right across from the Ocean Key Resort. The menu selection had various items on it and is wonderful. It is well worth the money to eat there even though it is a bit pricey . I would recommend it if you go with a family that it will cost you more than $100 dolars though that is why i do not know if it is worth it for children. The staff are all professional . I also like the view which is looking at the ocean.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    707
    214
    62
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view while dining!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ordered the Just Seafood. Disappointed the only side available was fries with lunch. Nice kids menu, the grandkids ordered steak and it came with fries and a fruit salad. The steak was cooked just right. Our seafood was good and the view was great. Outside seating was an option. The service could have been better, our waiter was not the best at keeping our drinks full and we had to ask for refills when he did return. I would still recommend Waterman's and will probably eat there again, but at dinner when there is more variety. Appreciated the valet parking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This restaurant excelled in every aspect. It is right on the boardwalk, and the view of the ocean is wonderful. Our server was friendly and efficient. There were 6 adults in our party and all of us had the she crab soup and the crabcakes. Both were excellent. My father, who ordrs crab cakes whenever he has a chance, said these were some of the best he's eaten. What made them even better was they were on special that night, regularly $22.95, for $10.00! All in all this was one of the best experiences of our trip to this area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Really good food, brought some home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really enjoyed the crab cakes and sides, so I ordered shrimp to go that I brought home and my family enjoyed the surprise shrimp dinner. Lots of jumbo lump crab in the crab cakes. Pleasant staff, bright interior, delicious food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank alashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Tuesday Night Crab Cake dinner special $10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I could not believe the specials they run in the off season. The regular cost is $23.99, and it was fantastic. Two fresh crab cakes, voted best of the beach, potatoes, vegetables. Located on the water, we will go back tomorrow for the $10 Flounder dinner. Valet parking is available. We tried the bacon wrapped scallops with a mango chutney that was pretty good as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Giuseppes1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterman's Surfside Grille also viewed

 

Been to Waterman's Surfside Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing