We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jewish Mother hilltop - CLOSED

Jewish Mother hilltop
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I hadn't been to the Jewish Mother in years. It has moved from the Pacific Ave. location to an area near a strip mall.
The food was overpriced and VERY disappointing. The corned beef/pastrami was chewy. The fries were frozen. The black bean burger was mushy. I can see that the venue is great for music, drinking but left a lot to be desired as a lunch spot. It is warehouse sized with 2 bars and even though there were other dinners, it was seemed very empty.
Overall very sad to see the decline!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    19
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Va. Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“$$$$”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Too expensive for most I would think. I have lived here my whole life and like jewish mother but it is just gotten to expensive to enjoy anymore.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore of VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I enjoyed the old location much more, having grown up with it... But the food is still good - especially the double reuben. INCREDIBLE coffee milkshake... but the onion rings left much to be desired. The waitress was wonderful and friendly... all in all, a very nice experience, but the ambience of the old Jew Ma is sorely missed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank aheady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“ONG so fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Greated by floor manager heather. She was fantastic. Oredered her recommendation of their ruben and it was the best I've ever had and I'm from new york. Wife had lox and bagel and kids asked for choc chip pancakes even tho it wasn't on menu and heather took care of everything. Even coffee was great. Wish it was this good in new york. If you vaycay in virgina beach and miss this your a fool.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khm1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Venue - Mature Entertainment Offering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The food was terrible. Let us get that out of the way immediately. However, it was great to hear a big band, a great singer and a friendly atmosphere. I would go back again, but not for a meal. Only a dessert. Hope they have improved their menu since they opened.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AWanderwoman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Mother hilltop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing