We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ynot Italian

Ynot Italian
Ranked #264 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: With over 21 years in business in Hampton Roads, we are a repeat "Best of" Winner in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake and Norfolk. In 2015, we were voted Best Pizza, Best Italian Restaurant, Best Family/Casual Dining, Best Beer Selection and Best Dessert in all three cities. Our menu of authentic Italian specialties, pasta, sandwiches and more is sure to please the entire family. So, come visit us or order online for pick-up or delivery and see why we're the family favorite!
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The restaurant is situated on a small corner with barely enough parking, but the inside is larger than it looks. The waistaff is friendly and quick. The menu is huge and I can't imagine someone not finding something good to try, but the chopped salads are tops. You pick and choose what you want from a HUGE list, then they mix it all up with the dressing and chop it down. Perfection every time. The prices are a tad high compared to similar eateries, but worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank disneymommy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
“Gone downhill...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I used to love YNot about four years ago. Now I can barely stomach their pizza. Everything tastes canned. The peppers are not fresh they are pickled. If you want an expensive vegetarian pizza the toppings come from a canned mix, and none can be omitted. ( I hate olives!)The worst is the sauce, it used to be really good and now it tastes like they changed it, like it's made from cans of Campbell's soup. If I am gonna pay a lot for pizza I would rather go to Primo. At least they use fresh ingredients. What happened to YNot? You used to be good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CT7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New York Italian in Virginia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Two brothers from New Jersey own four Y-not restaurants i2 in Va Beach, one in Chesapeake, and one in Norfolk's upscale Ghent. These Jersey men certainly know Italian food. The menus has a large variety of selection other than pizza. Pasta dishes that you can choose your own sauce and pasta. Hot and cold subs, and a Gluten free pizza option. A unique and very popular and delicious item on the menus is their chopped salad. Pick your own green and a huge assortment of ingredients, then it comes finely chopped no knife needed. You get a bite of all the flavors at once - wonderful !
Portion sizes are more than I can ever eat. It is a family restaurant, and a family run restaurant , many of the servers are sisters, or cousins, and it is a generally nice atmosphere.
On Friday and Saturday nights there is usually a 20 min wait, but it is definitely worth it !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachnative24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had visited this restaurant with my daughter over a year ago and we loved it. I recently went back with my husband and it was as if it was a different restaurant entirely. We felt rushed by the server to make up our minds so we ended up choosing one of the create-your-own pasta dishes. That was an expensive choice. One of the toppings I chose was shrimp at a cost of $4.50. I received four shrimp in my entree. Pretty overpriced in my opinion. I think we chose the wrong time to try to have dinner because the overall atomosphere was very loud. Lots of families with kids. This restaurant is probably a terrific, fun place for families. Not so much for two older folks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
currituck NC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“IF YOU LOVE CHEESE...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's been a long time since I've come close to raving about a pizza...this place rates among the best pizza I've tasted in years! There's something first quality about their cheese's and sauce...not to mention dough...that bring about a fabulous pizza! Two thumbs up for Y Not.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank twilight3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ynot Italian also viewed

 

Been to Ynot Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing