We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Little Place”

La Dolce Vita Bakery and Wine Bar Cafe
Cuisines: American, Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Little Place”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a nice bakery and wine bar. About two blocks off Atlantic Ave, La Dolce is such a nice change of pace from the standard Atlantic Ave fare - shore t-shirt shops, greasy food restaurants and waffle shops. Step away and enjoy fresh pastries and excellent cappucino. One slice of cake we had was stale, which we mentioned, and the weekend staff was mortified. They bent over backwards to replace it with something else and to give us our desserts for free. We weren't making a big deal about it, but their reaction showed how much they care about the quality of their freshly made desserts. Everything else was wonderful and the staff's attentiveness shows that quality matters greatly to them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went in here a couple of times during a weekend in Virginia Beach. Yes, the service was fairly leisurely, particularly behind the coffee counter but as that gave us more time to try and decide on what pastries to try that wasn't a problem! A great breakfast sandwich this morning too!
I hope they do well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Isn't worth a special trip to the oceanfront”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

It was an okay experience for me and my friend. The ordering process was surprisingly slow considering eight people behind the two counters.The sandwich was fresh and delicious. The side of grapes was funny - three tiny grapes in a tiny container : ) Three different servers did stop by to check on us during the meal. Apparently, their Napoleon is not made with puff pastry. I might visit this place again, but it's not that special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KryskaTNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Spot to While Away an Afternoon”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Yummy food, kind people. Excellent desserts. Delicious tea. I only with they had more comfortable furniture.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthroPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Dining near the ocean in Virginia Beach tends to be a matter of extremes. Restaurants are very good, with prices to match, in the hotels along the Boardwalk. Farther from the water you find mainly the likes of Starbucks, pancake houses, and frozen yogurt places. In between is La Dolce Vita, a café, bakery and wine bar. Located about a block from the statue of Neptune, VB’s premier landmark, it serves a variety of sandwiches, light meals, and tantalizing pastries (the fruit tarts are especially recommended). We went early—the breakfast sandwiches are delicious and imaginative (one featured goat cheese and roasted red peppers); the coffee is strong and rich; the tea selection is varied and fragrant. Servers are attentive without being intrusive, and you don’t feel rushed. Prices are reasonable. We recommend it highly, and we look forward to returning the next time we’re in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita Bakery and Wine Bar Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing