We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week- 3 chopped salads, meat/cheese board, etc.”

La Dolce Vita Bakery and Wine Bar Cafe
Cuisines: American, Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
395 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“One week- 3 chopped salads, meat/cheese board, etc.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

During a week in Virginia Beach, so far have made 5 stops here... 3 chopped salads ($6.99 for choice of four basic ingredients including 3 proteins, can add premium ingredients for .50 - $2.99.), coffee, tea, chocolate macaroon, parisian macaron, and today, a wonderful meat/cheese board. 2nd time I've had a meat/cheese (charcuterie) board. Theirs include fig jam, olives, plenty of grapes, candied walnuts, crackers and bread. We had the half board... 2 meats/2 cheese for $25. Brie, American White Vat Cheddar, Prosciutto and Chorizo. I learned today that "charcuterie" means "cured meats", so that's why meats on a "board" will be chewy, different from the grilled chorizo sausage I've had elsewhere. We enjoyed this... a meat/cheese board is a good way to have a leisurely lunch, nibbling on various things and talking, with high protein and relatively low carbs. Their salads have great, fresh ingredients. Great coffees/teas/desserts, and they play Sinatra inside. Wonderful helpful staff. What's not to love? They also have sandwiches.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlhjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice find”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After stepping into this bakery/café, I was delighted to see such an assortment of baked goods as well as deli offerings along with the coffee and wine selections. After eyeing many of the wonderful looking pastries and creations I realized that none of those beautiful confections would find their way back to my hotel because we didn't have a refrigerator to store them until we were ready later that night after dinner. Oh well. However, the fresh baked cookies looked yummy and I bought 2 each of chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin and cinnamon sugar. Although the other cold creations would have been very indulgent, the cookies were delish!!! No regrets and were enjoyed in our home the following evening.

A place worth stopping for after a day at the beach!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 897terriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
216 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A mere block from the beach, we tried a to go lunch bag. Top notch breads. Interesting unusual sandwich combos. Fresh meats. Good cheeses. Think really good French deli... Beer and wine too... Simply yummy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were looking for a place to have a light breakfast with our dog. This was the only place on that block where a waiter offered to take our order outside, since dogs are not allowed inside restaurants. He also brought out some water for our dog too, which was very nice! We had a couple of sandwiches, coffee, and truffle mousse, which were great. There's a lot going on inside and buying/ordering can be somewhat confusing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little bakery”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Service was great. The cronut did not live up to the hype but kudos to them for trying to copy Dominique Ansel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita Bakery and Wine Bar Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing