We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious throw-back-a down home seafood restaurant!”

Surf Rider Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 1,695 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Reviewed February 16, 2019

If you're looking for "high end", go somewhere else- if you want some fried seafood favorites- the kinds we grew up eating- Surf Rider hits the mark! Delicious fried oysters, shrimp, and crab cakes. A family favorite for many years; love it.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 168 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2019

Took my wife here for the first time while in town, it has been years since I have been here. Food and service was a good as I remember. She had seafood platter and I had the BBQ with Sweet Chili Shrimp. Everything was good, can't wait to bring the rest of the family.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brianmY1395IJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2018

I wanted fresh seafood for my birthday dinner and this is about the best place I know. We had she-crab soup, broiled scallops, broiled crabcake, and fried seafood platter. All were excellent. Seafood platter was enormous - enough for two meals. Scallops were the best I've ever had.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesM5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

This restaurant was recommended by a local. The coconut shrimp was a daily special, but I thought the chef had miscounted and given me more than the 10 I expected. They were just butterflied colossal shrimp, and they melted in your mouth. Even the hushpuppies were even sweet. Would go again if we get back in the area.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pollentec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Sat at the bar...drank cold beers and ate a nice platter of fried shrimp...The coleslaw was good too...and the beer was cold and wet...Good Stuff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kegotank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Rider Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Surf Rider Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing