We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn
Ranked #75 of 1,422 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In 1939, Robert Steinhilber opened what has become one of the oldest family owned and operated restaurants in Virginia, Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn. Continuing his commitment to service, quality and tradition are his daughter Jeanne and his grandson Brady. Together, they are proud to continue into the future with respect and admiration for the tradition and of the past. Join us for dinner and remember a time when every meal out was a special event.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a birthday party on Dec 1st, 2013 in the Cellar and I can't rave enough about it. The overall experience was superb. The service was outstanding. The fried shrimp was to die for - best I'd ever had. The room was lovely - not dark or gloomy like many "cellars." I think everyone really enjoyed themselves.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLife75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    49
    26
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Ambiance, and Service!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We enjoyed Steinhilber's twice in the same week!
Usually, we are on business, but this trip was for our niece's wedding. We took a break to check-out SUVs, as we needed to make a decision, and we were running out of time.
So, our first visit was due to a car dealer's suggestion. When we requested a non-chain restaurant with great seafood, he recommended Steinhilber's as the locals' favorite. We were not disappointed. You drive through a residential area to find this lovely treed location, an outside deck for dining, and an established restaurant building with many large windows. It was getting late, but as it was still a nice, brisk autumn evening, we chose to sit outside at one of their "fire tables". We enjoyed the ambiance so much, that we will be building one at our home, this next spring.
Our server, Bart, is a character! Besides having great knowledge of everything food and drink, he will keep you entertained with some of his stories and quick wit. We highly recommend requesting his service. He helped us to find our new favorite vodka and was helpful in choosing a wine for dinner. We split a dinner and had plenty, as it was getting too late for a heavy meal. Oh, but we did order their specialty appetizer, the Original Steiny's Fantail Fried Shrimp--yummy, and a photo op!
The second time, we brought some relatives and chose to inside for a cozy setting. We also found out that in the warmer months, one could elect to sit outside and have a view of the river--need to get there earlier, for that scene! Our dinner was wonderful; the four of us ordered different meals (their local oyster dish was excellent) and enjoyed them all. Don't forget to order dessert (we like to order one with four forks), a fun way to end a meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TemPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weems, VA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Four of us planned dinner for a Friday night in November. We were seated immediately once we confirmed our reservation. We had a nice table but it's a bit crowded in this restaurant but so all of the tables are pretty close together. We were promptly greeted by our server, Troy, who provided excellent service throughout the entire meal. He was timely in taking our orders, filing wine glasses and whatever we needed. We ordered the friend shrimp to share for an appetizer and they were big, tender and most flavorful. Each couple ordered a wedge salad to share and they were presented cut in half and nicely displayed and quite tasty. Two of our group ordered the rockfish and said it was delicious and I tasted it and they weren't kidding. My finance ordered the fried shrimp because he used to order it years ago and pronounced although not quite as tasty as in the past, most enjoyable. He figured this was because of food trends to use less trans fats and less breading but he was pleased. My meal was the only one not quite up to par. I had a sample of broiled crab meat - OK but not much, shrimp was good and scallops that were boring and tasteless. Each couple split the key lime desert and enjoyed every crumb. The only thing that kept it from 5 stars is the closeness of the tables (I actually bump elbows several times with a guy sitting near me and my food being just so so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic 48th wedding anniversary dinner”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

As always, Steiny's did not disappoint for a special occasion. My wife's prime rib was well done, ordered medium, and replaced in less than 5 minutes. I sampled some of it and it was really tender. My blackened striper was very good. Had their famous shrimp for an appetizer. Nikki was our server and she is top shelf. Was on top of the whole dining experience. My wife said Nikki had a nice smile and I agree.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helofixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a relaxing classic”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A family owned restaurant serving old Virginia Beach for generations. We have been going there for thirty years. the food, service and atmosphere are superb. Its located at the end of a older Virginia Beach neighborhood on a beautiful lot overlooking the Lynnhaven river.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaimeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn also viewed

 

Been to Steinhilber's Thalia Acres Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing