We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Salvatore's Pizzeria!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salvatore's Pizzeria

Salvatore's Pizzeria
Ranked #103 of 1,406 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Salvatore's Pizzeria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Salvatore's is our go-to Italian restaurant, period. We landed at Salvatore's quite by accident, referred by Urbanspoon when our usual spots were crowded on a weekend night, and I'm so glad we did.
Salvatore's has the cozy, warm atmosphere of home, if your home included an executive chef at the helm and speedy, friendly staff. There are often big family groups dining and celebrating.
Now, the food...we can't decide on an appetizer, and surprise! Fresh, hot garlic knots with a marinara dipper or brushetta appear, to tempt our appetites for what's to follow.
The baked ziti is melt-in-your-mouth perfect, topped with home-made mozzarella and served with fresh, hot garlic bread. Calzone gondolini is light and crispy, stuffed with delicious, fresh house-made sausage, ricotta and mozzarella.
Just when you think dinner can't get any better, complimentary zeppoles appear, along with the owner making sure you loved your meal.
On subsequent visits, each dish has exceeded expectations, from chalk-board specials to the 5-star pizza: fresh and thin-crusted, loaded with their signature mozzarella.
Buon appetito, indeed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    31
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pa.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great italian food with friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife,daughter and I ate here on June 14th 2014 after reading reviews on trip advisor which were mostly positive ,It was about a 15 min. drive from Virginia Beach where we were staying for vacation. The food was very good, The sevice excellent and friendly workers throughout.The owner was very nice and he would walk around checking with everyone whether everything was ok ,I thought this was a very nice touch and it was refreshing to feel as if your business was appreciated. He also questioned us on the way out if we were satisfied which we let him know we were . We would recommend this restaurant for casual Italian dining , a nice atmosphere, good food, fair prices ,and an appreciation for your business.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deanroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Italian Food in the Heart of Kempsville!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Chicken parm., pizza, salad - whatever you order at Salvatore's will be prepared and served in a top notch manner. Love the owner - he greets each and every patron at their table to personally make sure you are enjoying your dinner! It has a homey feel and quality that makes you want to go back over and over again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great pizza in Va Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We ordered pizza and pasta here on our way to the airport. Staff was very pleasant, pizza was huge, and the meatballs in their pasta were twice the size of normal. Daughter loves the deserts too. One note- there's a Sals pizza in the same area. Make sure you don't get lost like we did.

Helpful?
Thank Triciammh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best NY style pizza in Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My entire family loves Salvatore's Pizza! It's the closest thing to the NY style pizza I've had in NY. They have excellent dinner entrees also. They serve free garlic knots to every table and their marinara sauce is excellent!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Salvatore's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing