We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best bagels there are!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bagel Baker

The Bagel Baker
Ranked #7 of 34 Bakeries in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best bagels there are!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I knew they were the best bagels in Virginia Beach but now it's official: they won Best Bagels at the Beach for 2013! Whether I am craving a quick snack or a full meal, the Bagel Baker doesn't disappoint. Not to mention George, his family, and the entire staff are the friendliest people you will ever meet at 7 o'clock in the morning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenzie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Bagels, And Now Sandwiches and Salads”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Now over a year old, Bagel Baker has expanded into much more than the really good bagel place it's been since it opened. While the bagels are still tops --- all with that tender, chewy inside, crunchy outside, and not too much flavoring and sugar in the fruit and fancy varieties --- Bagel Baker is now a full-fledged sandwich shop, offering breakfast sandwiches, great homemade salads and fancy things to drink for those wanting a sit-down breakfast or early lunch, either on or off a bagel. I'm still good for a half-dozen in a bag to take home at least two or three times a month, and haven't yet tried all the fancy additions and nicely decorated dining area adjacent to the bagel cooling racks. But a stop for a more leisurely weekend breakfast is certainly on my list, and, until then, I'm still just really enjoying their bagels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickSchlegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic NY bagels in Va Beach!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a truly fantastic local spot that should not be missed. You will not get a better tasting bagel anywhere at the beach and their bacon, ham, eggs, cheese are all top notch ingredients as well. George, the owner, is a great guy and always fun and in a great mood. Don't miss this hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VaBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lite lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Delicious bagels and sandwiches for breakfast and lunch in a very clean and welcoming neighborhood place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I was nearby at the Sentara...”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was nearby at the Sentara Virginia Beach General Hospital looking for a lunch spot. Several reviews on the web were positive about The Bagel Baker. My wife, sister-in-law, son and I went there and were impressed by the quality of the bagels -- as good as we have had from highly rated bagel spots on the East Side of New York City. My son and I had bagel and lox sandwiches, which were excellent. Everyone was pleased with their sandwiches.

We were impressed with the service and had the opportunity to meet the owner and his parents. They were friendly and both the son and parents talked about the long hours the son had put into perfecting the art of bagel making. We could not help but agree that he had perfected that art.

Two days later, with a number of family and friends at the hospital, I went and purchased two dozen bagels. Again, they were excellent and those eating them were extremely positive.

As The Bagel Baker is tucked into a commercial storefront row a little distance from Great Neck Road, it may be a little harder to find but a good GPS unit and sharp eye should get you there.

When in Virginia Beach and looking for bagels, we would definitely go here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bagel Baker also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to The Bagel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing