We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier 14 Restaurant - CLOSED

Pier 14 Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Featuring a full breakfast buffet,and lunch and dinner menu. Seafood, steaks and much more! Sit inside or enjoy the fun of Atlantic Ave. on the outdoor patio with music every Thur & Fri. Kid Buffet Nightly
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pier 14 serves breakfast for the guests of Best Western's Sandcastle Hotel. The breakfast was great! I'm not sure if I missed a communication before we got to the restaurant, but be sure that you bring a gratuity with you as the restaurant is separate from the hotel. We were used to just breezing thru the old continental breakfast of before and didn't bring any extra money down with us for the tip. :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank staycationer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    24
    16
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“dissapointed”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Me and my wife went for breakfast and were surprised by the buffet, not only did it have a good selection but the food was fresh and actually very good. The service was good too, our waitress was able to give us information about Virginia Beach and things do during our visit she was able to answer our questions even though the place was packed. We`ll definitly come back next time were in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeF897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJSLQ, Manager at Pier 14 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for your review of our restaurant. I was surprised to see such a pleasant review since you had titled the review as "disappointed". On the weekends or when the hotel has groups in house we do serve many people. Regardless of how busy the restaurant is our friendly and attentive staff will always have time to answer questions and offer up advice for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and we're glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us. Perhaps next trip you can join us for a dinner or lunch. We believe you will find that equally enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went here for dinner (not the buffet) and the food was absolutely spectacular-definitely recommend the shark bites and lobster mac 'n cheese. Food had great presentation along with unique options that were delish. Service was great, our server was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mg21358277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Sand Castle Hotel and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the Pier 14 restaurant. Their buffet was very nice. Everything you could possibly want for breakfast was there. From homemade french toast to homemade desserts. Fresh fruits, yogurts, muffins, oatmeal and danishes were also available. The waitstaff and owner was very friendly and offered great service. They were very patient with my children and definitely made us feel welcome. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. We will definitely make it apart of our trip next year. Thanks Pier 14! We give you 5 stars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabitha e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Breakfast”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Don't waste your money going here for breakfast- many people go here thinking that it is the Galley but it changed hands. The breakfast buffet is a glorified hotel "free with your room" buffet with precooked food warmed up and rubbery "fake" eggs. I'd eat nothing before I ate there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJSLQ, Manager at Pier 14 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for your review of our restaurant. We strive to serve the best quality ingredients on our breakfast buffet. We did have a few days when we had a very limited buffet when we first opened our doors due to construction in the back of the restuarant. However I can assure you that we do not use precooked or warmed up food. Please accept my apologies for anything that was not prepared to your satisfaction. I am confident if you give us another chance next time you are in town we will be able to change your opinion of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 14 Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing