We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking something”

Calypso Bar and Grill
Ranked #118 of 1,413 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lacking something”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Ate here while attending the Va Bch Neptune Festival. Hot day so we looked for a place to eat inside. Very cool and comfortable in the a/c and ceiling fans on. Good Caribbean music playing but not so loud that you couldn't hold a conversation. I had the lettuce wraps interesting flavor provided by the Thai sauce. Spouse ordered the steak salad. Asked that the jerk be omitted but it still had a strange marinade that she didn't care for. Otherwise it was ok. Service average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    64
    27
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun times”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great happy hour specials every day from2-8pm, live music nighly (except football games) Great servers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank centsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Hotel Bar - Loud & Rowdy”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Typical outdoor bar, decent band Friday night, but they make no effort to keep crowd noise under control, so don't plan on sleeping before 2

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dskjky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food was good, except for piece of metal in the salad!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice atmosphere, had a nice lunch out on the boardwalk. My seafood reuben was very good as was the sandwich the other person with us had, but the salad that my daughter ordered had a big piece of metal in it. To be fair, they gave her a new salad which she said was delicious and did not charge her, but it really put a damper on the lucnh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lathamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Actually good bar food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Being told a wait time of 2 hours for a table is a demoralizing experience, not once but twice both at the Calypso Bar and Grill and at the restaurant next-door, was ameliorated by a spot at the bar here. The restaurant was absolutely packed and we were at first disappointed by the lack of attention paid by the bartenders when we sat down, but once we got on their radar they were as prompt as they could be considering the hundreds of drink orders they were dealing with. We were impressed as they didn't stop moving for the entire hour that we were there. I was offered a Shocktop to replace my BlueMoon order, which proved to be a nice summer beer complete with a dressing of an orange slice. In spite of the beach bar atmosphere, the appetizer of Ahi tuna served with cucumber was surprisingly fresh and delicious. Even the Frito nachos were flavorful and went really well with the beer. Although it was very loud around the bar, it didn't impede our own conversation. We recommend Calypso as bar food with flavor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Calypso Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing