We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went to Virginia Beach from May 30 to June 2 and stayed at Oceanaire Resort after visiting last year and staying at the Ocean Beach Club. I was extremely impressed with the valet guys. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and extremely accommodating. The front desk person was also very nice and welcoming. Our room was clean and smelled very good unlike or room at the Ocean Beach Club last year that had a "mildew" smell. I requested a higher floor at reservation and sure enough they provided us with an ocean view floor on the 17th floor. It was great. We received a call from the concierge desk the following morning and requested more coffee. We had the coffee delivered to us within minutes. The only reason I didn't give it an "excellent" review was because our server by the pool seemed a little annoyed and "rushed" to get us out of there. After ordering our first round of drinks she brought the bill even though we wanted to order food and more drinks. Other than that our experience at this hotel was very good and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: An "ocean view" room will still give you a great view of the ocean and it's a little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travel74Travel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear travel74Travel74,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for your experience poolside. I will pass your comments along to our F&B Manager for resolution. Thank you for choosing Oceanaire and we hope to see you again during your next visit to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom ocean view suite on the 18th floor.
Pros:
-Beautiful room, floor plan was perfect, lots of room, big kitchen and dining table, master bath was very nice with a big shower and tub, big balcony with lots of seating and a great view, quiet, plenty of towels,
- Location is very good. On boardwalk and beach, next to plenty of restaurants, a few shops (mostly tourist t-shirt shops),
-valet parking was easy to use but $16 a night, self parking is $8 and just across the street.

Cons:
-Staff was just adequate,
-Asked concierge for restaurant suggestions and the only ones she suggested were the restaurants the hotel owned. She didn't seem to know much about the rest. Did give us coupons.
-Had trouble with our tv in our room and they sent up an engineer who said he couldn't fix it,
my son ended up fixing it himself.
-Asked for no maid service one day and got it anyway.
-Very small shampoo and body soaps (no hair conditioner) and no robes.
-Check out at 10:00am, they do not have a place to hold your luggage if your flight leaves later.
-Tiki bar closed early because business was slow. Only other bar is inside and more $$.

Room Tip: two bedroom suite great for families with teenagers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Midwestgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Midwestgirl67,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to make each stay memorable for all of our guests through providing great service. It looks like we missed the mark with you in a couple of instances. I will pass along your comments to the appropriate managers to review with their teams. That being said, I am glad that you were able to enjoy most of your stay with us. We hope to serve you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Bed was horrible. The mattress was the worst I've seen, both my husband and I and my parents had back pain on both nights we stayed there. Pillows are a joke... I folded them to try to have more support and would still wake up every hour to try to adjust it. Room is ridiculously small, they say 4 people when you book it but there was no room to walk between the beds, the bathroom was very small too, and the so called double beds looked more like enlarged twin beds. My husband and I are skinny and barely fit on it. I called the front desk asking for a bigger room, the concierge girl agreed our room was too small for 4 people but said she would have to charge us $182.50 more a night to switch to a "more comfortable room for 4 adults". Why did they label it as a 4 adults room??? My parents are not young to stay in such a horrible room... Also, the pools were disgusting, at 1pm the pool was green and blurred, and they did nothing to make it useable again. Tortuga tiki bar's menu is stupid, and nothing we tried tasted good. And the shower had a horrible "plane turbine" like noise.... Will never come back and will never recommend this to anyone.... Stay away!!!

Stayed: May 2014
5  Thank Priscila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Priscilla S,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I must say that I was a bit shocked to read about your experience. We use the same mattresses that are used at the Hilton, which is our sister property. The room that you booked appears to be our standard room with 2 double beds and a kitchenette. They are some of the largest standard rooms at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We do offer a one bedroom suite which features a queen bed, a pullout queen, living room with dining table and full kitchen. They are much larger and do cost more to rent based on the amenities and size of the unit.

I am a bit dismayed about the pool comment you made as well as the comment about the menu in Tortuga's. The restaurant is open seasonally and offers a casual menu. The menu is designed for speedy service and consists mostly of sandwiches, tacos and salads. I hope that you gave our team the opportunity to correct the issues you experienced by contacting a manager on duty to discuss your concerns. We do apologize for your experience. Though you did not enjoy our property as much as we would wish, I encourage you to look at other properties in our portfolio that may better suit your needs during a future visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The resort is great. It has a great location on the "strip". The only draw back was the constant flights of the near by naval air station and the training flights of the Blue Angels and other types of aircraft which are deafening. The staff is very attentive. The restaurant Big Italy is very good and just across the street.

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor room 24 A. We had an ocean view, not ocean front. Which I actually preferre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgoers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear beachgoers10,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Virginia Beach is home to the Patriotic Festival each year over Memorial Day weekend. The Blue Angels are featured in the annual airshow during the festival. We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our weekend stay. The two room suite setup was perfect for my parents to sleep in one room and my son and I in the other. Fantastic kitchen and wonderful location. Walked to my favorite local hole in the wall awesome seafood joint, Nick's.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tufshuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Tufshuz,

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! Our two bedroom suites are great for family getaways. I am glad that we were in close proximity to your favorite restaurant. I have not had the chance to eat at Nick's yet but I may do just that after reading your description. :-) We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The resort makes a lovely impression from the outside. The atmosphere is hip and trendy, the rooms are nicely appointed. The Junior Suites is likely the smallest room I've ever stayed in and for the price charged to stay, it was a huge disappointment. The resort staff were Friendly and all smiles, however no one is empowered to go out of their way to resolve guests concerns. They rely heavily on the surroundings for their guests happiness. The pool area is equipped with flags that one raises when wanting to get the attention of the staff. In the three days of my stay, I could not get one glance from a pool attendant unless I walked to the bar myself. The indoor pool area is very small and tight on a bad weather day. They do offer two indoor pools with the other being more kid oriented. There is a lovely 10th floor sun deck but the music is programmed to annoying Oldies and when I asked the attendant if he could change, he said No. He did offer to turn off since I was the only one on the deck, he never delivered or came back to tell me he couldn't. After settling in for a day, we agreed the location of the facility is ideal-quietly located a few blocks North of the VA beach action. There are other facilities adjacent to this property that, for the money could likely deliver
an equal or better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopnalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear shopnalot,

I am dissapointed to hear that you were not staisfied with portions of your stay. I will pass along your comments about poolside and 10th floor deck service to the appropriate managers. Regarding your comment about the music on the 10th floor, we do have a set standard of what we are allowed to play in that area. I apologize that we were unable to accomodate your request for different music. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you during your next trip to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My experience at the Oceanaire resort was great. Everyone that worked there was very friendly and helpful. The room itself was really nice and very clean. The only thing I could think off that wasn't good was the door to the room I had was a bit difficult to push open almost like there was a lot of resistance in the mechanism that makes sure tge door closes, this was only a very minor inconvenience and the only reason I am mentioning it is because I'm fairly strong and it was still very noticeable to me. Overall my time at the Oceanaire resort was great and definitely worth going again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason N, General Manager at Oceanaire Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Will R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I appreciate you bringing the door closure to our attention. I will certainly pass your comment along to our engineering team for resolution. We look forward to serving you again during your next trip to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 109 in Virginia Beach
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,550 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanaire Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Address: 3421 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $99 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanaire Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanaire Resort Hotel offers oceanfront or ocean view deluxe rooms or one- and two-bedroom high-end suites with fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, and private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. As the newest luxury resort at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Oceanaire combines a state-of-the art meeting facility with the very latest in accommodations and service. With two oceanfront outdoor pools, two indoor pools, plush bedding and linens, jetted tubs, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, an ocean view fitness center and valet parking, the guest experience at Oceanaire is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, HotelPower, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceanaire Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing