We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Hotel is very clean and nice. The staff are very helpful. I loved the Queen suite. Only thing..The queen suite does not have a queen bed, it is a standard bed. This is misleading on purpose. The view from the room which was an ocean view was wonderful. Not a lot of shopping and dinning close by. We walked several blocks to eat. Next day we drove. Parking if Valet is $16 per day. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadowdancer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    98
    47
    23
    26
See reviews for
160
118
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Frostburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff was friendly, the room was very nice, and the price can't be beat. The amenities were enjoyable, there were 4 pools to choose from, my 5 year old enjoyed the children's pool, I enjoyed the 10th floor sundeck and the outdoor fireplace they have. Much better than the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Will stay here next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was moved to this hotel which actually has cell phone reception whichost of the ocean front hotels don't. Huge rooms with floor to ceiling ocean views.
Staff was friendly. Pool was clean and heated which was great for December swimming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yabb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This would be a raving review, but I must start it out with the worst part, because it's the first thing we encountered. The hotel's parking garage is TWO BLOCKS AWAY, and as if the inconvenience isn't enough, you have to pay $8 a day for it! Let's be reasonable, it should cost money for the public to use it, but be free if you are staying with the hotel company that owns it. I was very surprised and disappointing with that from the get go.

Another issue we had (and this would effect nearby hotels as well) is the fact that gold key is building another hotel right next door, so we heard construction noise almost the entire day. Nothing like the sweet sound of waves crashing, and jackhammers hammering. I wouldn't normally count this against a hotel, but it's the same owners. I certainly wish they would have waited for winter months.

The next issue (which is minor, but mentionable) is that we never found a door that was direct access to the beach. Maybe we missed it, but from what we could tell we had to go out the main door, play frogger through the cars in line for valet, cross part of a road and then hit the sand. Not a long distance, nor a big deal, but seems like a silly design.

As far as the hotel itself, the room was great, the pools were excellent, the hot tub that seats 12 was a perfect temp (not blazing hot), and the staff was really friendly. Having a kitchen in the room was also excellent.

We did enjoy our stay, and had it not been for expensive & far away parking this would probably be a 5/5 review.



This would be a 5 star review if they had free

Room Tip: If you are asked to come to the concierge to get your wristband, don't bother. It only takes 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the best and most luxurious new hotels in Virginia Beach! The suite was extremely comfortable with a full kitchen, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and a bedroom with a balcony. The room also had 2 LCD TVs with blu-ray players and a device to hook up your hard drive/laptop if necessary. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions. I would definitely stay at Oceanaire again!

Room Tip: The suite is amazing! 2 LCD TVs w/ blu-ray players and device for hard drive hook up, a balcony, 2 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisFergoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

5 star best place at the beach the pools the bars awesome friendly staff the view was beautiful room were clean and beautiful, it was well worth the price and the rooms were ready when we got there early

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janallen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived very early at around noon to some extremely accommodating and genuinely caring valet. We wanted to register our room to get parking and pool passes thinking we'd need to wait until check-in time. To our surprise, the room was ready! Sheena at front desk was great - although she was the only person at the front desk on both days of our stay. I think they could've used another person especially during the busier hours.

The one-bedroom suite was impeccably clean. Room amenities are exemplary: two HDTVs, fully stocked kitchen, etc. Although marketed as Ocean View, it has a VERY limited view from the balcony.

The resort-esque pool is very expansive, with both indoor and outdoor kid-friendly pools. The spa area also offers a relaxing and quiet time, with an infinity pool, hot tub, and outdoor campfire.

All in all, Oceanaire redefined for us what we should expect at Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Ice machines are on even levels - if that's going to be important for you ask for a room on an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevnrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#61 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#31 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanaire Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanaire Resort Hotel

Property: Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Address: 3421 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanaire Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanaire Resort Hotel offers oceanfront or ocean view deluxe rooms or one- and two-bedroom high-end suites with fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, and private balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. As the newest luxury resort at the Virginia Beach oceanfront, Oceanaire combines a state-of-the art meeting facility with the very latest in accommodations and service. With two oceanfront outdoor pools, two indoor pools, plush bedding and linens, jetted tubs, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, an ocean view fitness center and valet parking, the guest experience at Oceanaire is unparalleled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceanaire Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing