We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK for Thanksgiving”

Neptune's Restaurant
Ranked #210 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Timonium, MD
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just OK for Thanksgiving”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We go to VB for Thanksgiving and usually try one of the local Thanksgiving buffets. We were lured to Neptune's, in the Oceanfront Inn, by the promise of King Crab legs and Lobster tails for only a few dollars more than the other buffets around. While the traditional Thanksgiving food was pretty decent, the crab legs and lobster tails were almost inedible, kind of like they were cooked, frozen and then defrosted and reheated. The service was very good, though. Next Thanksgiving we'll probably go back to Black Angus for their holiday buffet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MS1Timonium_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    81
    50
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good place in the Winter season to grab a bite”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Neptune's Restaurant is located in the back of the Oceanfront Inn. We discovered it while walking on the boardwalk. On our December visit the place was not busy during lunch. We sat in the beachfront dining. The inside dining area did smell funny. I ordered the shrimp Po Boy and the wife had the Chicken sandwich wrap. The service was prompt and the sandwiches were good. Her side dish was a very large portion of pasta. Mine were fries which were very bland. Our table had no condiments and we had to ask our server to bring us some.
It was an okay place to eat. It met our need for something to eat where most places were closed for the winter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXTON, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“tasted terrible, too expensive, smelled like old perfume”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I took our 1 year old on her first beach trip and we decided to stay at a hotel with a restaurant so....the first morning there, we figured the baby needed some eggs and fresh fruit for breakfast. Like the other reviewer on here that said the smell was nauseating, I tend to agree. We were slapped in the face with a smell of old stale perfume which lingered the entire meal. So, we stayed anyway, ordered baby her sunny side up egg and fresh fruit....the fruit was $5.00, the oranges tasted like onions and her egg was runny, the white part that isn't supposed to be runny. My eggs benedict were around $10.00 and tasted like old poultry, my husband could barely stomach his eggs and potatoes. I can honestly say that their breakfast is horrid. Maybe the dinner is better, not too sure. Just don't go there for breakfast....please!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LERCH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The food and the service here was very good! Plus it was located inside our motel, so it was very convienient.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank terlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Server”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We got to take a short trip to the beach and we where in the mood for seafood, also it was within walking distance. The staff seemed bored but friendly, our server was very nice and kept the table clean ( we ate snow crab legs). The food was a bit lack luster, bland and a little on the high side.
Add a little flavor, early bird specials and this could be a great place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KandyGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Neptune's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing