We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasure”
Review of Ocean Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Suites
Ranked #65 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a pleasure”
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The staff at Ocean Suites really made our stay enjoyable so much so that we extended our stay an extra night. They were friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was thorough. Bring your own cutting knives for cooking and the bedroom tv doesn't have video game hookups but no big deal. This is our new spot at the beach. See you next year!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    156
    67
    42
    50
See reviews for
271
89
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Our family had booked to stay at an efficiency in this hotel which was nice with its stove, microwave, fridge, and pull-out bed, though the bedroom was cramped with the beds nearly side by side. We were greeted at the hotel in the lobby by an employee with a bit of an attitude, though housekeeping was very friendly. The location is perfect if you plan on spending most of your time on the beach, with a balcony overviewing it and a shower entrance to the boardwalk. One setback though is the elevator which is very slow. Overall, this hotel is a good choice if you plan on spending your time on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiblit_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We checked in Friday July 31st a little earlier than expected, but were welcomed by the staff and told our room was already ready for us. The room was very clean and tidy. Definitely a great room for couples or maybe a small family, but not much room for young children to run and frolic around. The balcony was a great size and stretched the whole length of the room. We even got to watch the fireworks one night and they shot them off directly in front of our room! The view was amazing. My boyfriend and I actually pulled out the sleeper sofa and slept with balcony door open a couple nights just to hear the waves. And, no it's not as comfortable as a regular bed would be, but c'mon, it's a mattress inside a couch, it's not a big deal. The bathroom was extremely clean and newly renovated, and the water pressure in the shower was the best ever. I felt like I was getting a massage everytime.

The elevator was slow but not as bad as I expected after reading other reviews. 90% of the time we used it, we were on it alone. We weren't in the room a lot except to sleep and maybe rest a little after being on the beach, so we didn't use it much anyway. The security is great in that after I believe 6pm, everything has to be accessed by your hotel key. So just guests can get into the lobby, elevators, etc.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly, and even though we didn't need the room serviced everyday, Juanita (housekeeper) would come by and check to make sure everything was ok anyway! We even passed her in the hallway once time and she asked if we need anything. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All4Avant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Bill C. ( Retired Navy & Guest Relations Supervisor),
Juanita( Best Housecleaner) & Steve( Maintenance Man)
All were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. Bill & Steve both
went out of there way to help my mother via there own wheelchair get
to her room on the 8th floor. Ashley was also very helpful when
needed. Hotel rooms are small but comfy enough for 1 to3 people,
rooms have a 37" flat screen t.v., dvd player, 21" t.v. in bedroom, full
sized apt type fridge and freezer(very new to all rooms), rangetop,
ironing board with iron, coffee maker, pull out sofa bed with box
springs. Very small eating table for only for 2 people, 1 chair in the
room and thats it. Yes there are better and bigger rooms on the strip
but Ocean Suites are centrally located on the strip, the prices are very
competative and they offer there repeat customers a 10% discount
with there next stay. There are 2 sets of commercial type washers &
Dryers on property and they work great. Parking is tight and I believe
there are only enough spots for 1 vehicle per room. The elevator is a
joke make sure you give yourself ample time cause its the slowest
elevator on the planet, we used the steps cause we got tired waiting for
the elevator. The pool is small but nice with the deepest end being only
5 ft deep. There is no fitness facility, no room service, no lobby.
The office where you check in and out is extremely tiny. The
hotel is very old but newly renovated(rooms only). The wake up call
system is hit and miss when it works. The beds are not the greatest but good enough for your stay. Bottom line is for the money and
location you simply cant go wrong with Ocean Suites, just ask for Bill
or Steve if your not happy and also ask for Juanita if you want your
room the way you want it, not the way she was taught how to clean it.
We will all be back, so book your rooms now and have fun. If your interested in seeing better pics of the rooms, just ask me, I took several pics which will give ya a better idea and oh yeah each room has there own private balcony from which you can see the dolphins swim by on a daily basis( dont pay for the dolphin boat trip- your wasting your money)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retnavybm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

While the hotel is located in a great location on the beach, the description on the website is not accurate. The updates that were made were nothing to be bragging about. The staff at the hotel did not pay attention to young children being around. My two year old son got knocked down and hit in the head by the cleaning crew. There is one elevator that is consistently taken up by the cleaning crew, not to mention that it was the slowest elevator ever! Our room did get cleaned everday, which was a bonus, however I believe at times the dirt was just swept under the remnant that was considered to be a rug! Nezxt time I will just spend the money and rent a house!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushiwog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed at the Ocean Suites from July 21 to July 31, 2009. I had read the many reviews and didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. Size of units was perfect. we were 2 adults and 2 children (ages 5 and 7). This is our second year in VA Beach first stay at this hotel and I will most certainly go back next year. It's far from a 5 star hotel, but for the price it was just fine. Renovations have been made recently. Staff was very friendly. Probably the floors 5 to 8 are the best. (Pool is on 4th, so a little busy) If you are looking for something very chic I wouldn't recommend this place, but otherwise, it's a great hotel for a family.

PROS: Location is great. Close to everything, in the middle of the action. Friendly staff. Secure place. You need your key to get around. Laundry room on 5th and 7th floor. The shower was great...the pressure in that shower was wonderful! (nothing worst than a shower with no pressure)
CONS: The pool area would definately need a little renovation and fresh paint but it was still ok. We would only use the pool to rinse off the kids after a day at the beach. Parking is a little tight, but we managed to find a good spot. Balcony is pretty small, but the view is great. Elevator slow, so we walked up and down the stairs. Good exercise, when all you do is sit on the beach all day. Sofa bed not very comfortable.
We were 4 and were very comfortable. Kids enjoyed the TV in the bedroom. We all had a good time and will go back. My only suggestion to the manager would be to put a sign DO NOT FEED THE BIRDS!!! When you're having your coffee on the balcony and someone above you has the brilliant idea to feed the birds...it's not a pretty sight!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxamillion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delawhere?
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We loved this place. Boyfriend and I arrived in VB (our first time there) after 9:00 on Friday nite--with no reservations anywhere. Just thought we would take our chances on finding a place. No doubt about it--we hit the jackpot staying here. Had originally planned on only staying two nights, but we loved our room and the beach so much that we decided to stay an extra night. Christina at the front desk was great, she went above and beyond the call of duty to shuffle things around so that we could stay in the same room for the added night-(A big thanks to her). The room was perfect for us. A queen bedroom, bathroom, living area with a flat screen TV and a kitchenette. The bedroom is not huge, but I would not call it cramped by any stretch of the imagination. Because we wanted the ocean breeze and to hear the ocean at night, we pulled out the sofa sleeper and made it up with extra sheets from the closet and slept very well there for two nights. The outside of the hotel is older, but the room was very nice-and clean! I also have to add that the entire staff is so friendly, always got a smile and a greeting and wishing you a nice day or nice evening, even the day we left they wished us a safe trip home! We didn't use the pool because it got afternoon sun and we on the beach by then, but we did see a lot of people using it. Everything you need is right across the street.
Yes, the one elevator is older and slow--No big deal!
Yes, the lobby is small, again-No big deal!
No continental breakfast, room service etc....--No big deal!
The beautiful view, the location on the boardwalk, the friendly staff all this for the price we paid was almost a steal. We will most definitely be back to VB and Ocean Suites!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank km_in_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Suites

Property: Ocean Suites
Address: 2315 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3201
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Suites is an all Suites Oceanfront property. All rooms come equipt with a microwave, refridgerator, iron, ironing board, toaster, and two stove top burners. We also provide a 37" LCD Flat screen TV and DVD player in the living room with a private balcony overlooking the ocean. We offer FREE WIFI, Local calls, in rooms safes, and Local TV Channels, as well as on site laundry for our guest. Our outdoor pool is open during season daily from 10am till 10pm weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ocean Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Ambassador Suites Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing