We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
MA/ME
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel for work at the end of January, for three weeks. Seeing as I was there so long I think I probably met every employee of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. I had a flat screen tv, mini fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was up to date as well. One thing I thoroughly enjoyed was the warm cookies in the lobby at night! It's not the fanciest hotel but it is pretty nice. The lobby is very pretty with a two-sided fireplace and various seating options. There is a free parking garage across the street which was helpful during the freak snow storm we got. The only real complaint I have is the overpriced "convenience bar" for snacks and sundries.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank newenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello newenglandfoodie !
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on the Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center! I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay and take full advantage of the amenities offered to our guest! We hope to see you soon , thanks !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    214
    67
    36
    20
See reviews for
219
197
51
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Plenty of restaurant options within a very short walk, the shopping mall directly across the street, and the beach within about a 20 minute drive (possibly shorter if traffic allows). The appearance of this hotel is very nice, and the rooms are reasonably clean and comfortable. It appears to be in a very safe area as well, so you can feel comfortable walking around after dark. I only really have two negatives that are worthy of mention. The first is the parking situation. While the parking is free, it is not actually on the hotel property. I did not like having to cross the street, take an elevator up to the 5th to 8th floors of the neighbouring parking garage, and dodge vehicles in the very tight ramps. Even worse when carrying luggage. It was not convenient at all. The second thing is the wifi. The wifi signal here is practically non-existent. Be prepared to walk around the room trying to get even just 1 bar of signal, and once you get it, don't expect it to last long. I don't know if that's a problem throughout the hotel, or just in the room I was in. Nowadays with how dependent everyone is on electronic devices, I don't think it's asking much for a hotel to have decent wifi service. This one is a little easier to fix than the parking situation, for which there may not be a better way unfortunately. Those 2 issues aside, it's still a very nice hotel with far more positives than negatives, and I'd gladly stay here again (once they fix the wifi).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellinDaveHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello TravellinDaveHead !
Thank you so much for your review! Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of the parking and wifi. Your input is taken into consideration, we realize browsing is important to our guest and we are currently looking into the issue for complimentary wifi. Meanwhile we now have a premium service available to purchase for quicker browsing!! I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your stay apart of the two minor setbacks your input is extremely helpful !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as a surprise birthday weekend getaway for my wife. Everything was as good as if not better than advertised. We have decided to make this our weekend get away spot form now on, especially due to the location, everythign you could need is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello Joseph O
We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on our property. I'm glad your wife enjoyed her surprise birthday getaway!! What was your favorite restaurant to visit while you were in the area? Hope to see you guys back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I traveled to Virginia Beach last week and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center and couldn't have been happier.
The staff was courteous, genuine, and helpful. They upgraded me without even requesting the upgrade and when I got to the room had a jacuzzi tub at my disposal. The breakfast served was very good. The next time I'm in Virginia Beach I know where I'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sabia M,

Thanks for the review of our great hotel. I am very happy you had a great stay with us. Please return to us during your next trip to Virginia Beach. Have a great day today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
604 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We travel a lot, and exclusively in the Hilton Family. (31 Stays for 76 nights in 2014 and counting), Very pretty hotel, nice front desk personal, great servers in the dining room, and Carolyn in Housekeeping went about and beyond. These were my hang ups with our stay and they are the little things that can make a huge difference. Our request is low floor away from elevator, we were placed on the top floor, no big deal except the hallways are about 100 they don't cool them. No trash cans outside the hotel or in the lobby. No note pads in your room to make a note on, I was told they don't furnish them. The only lobby coffee for free was at breakfast time other than that there was a sign that said you could get a Keruig Cup from the Pantry for $2.00. NEVER have we stayed in any hotel where they did not offer free coffee in the lobby. The only thing air conditioned in the entire hotel that I found was the lobby and our room which was nothing to brag about. In fact we left for our next stay a day early. We are now at the HGI,with three floors in New Port News and so far so good, they have note pads, air conditioning, trash cans and yes free coffee, tea, and cocoa 24/7, they have all the things the seven floor hotel cheaped out on.

Room Tip: Free wifi if you are gold or diamond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharieN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SharieN_13,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your most recent stay. We do care about the comments from our guests. the review is used as a training tool to make our hotel better. I thank you for the constructive comments and we are actioning the items mentioned. Have a great week and please return and give us another chance to show you how a great a team and hotel we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed here over the 4th of July weekend as The Westin, where we usually stay was booked. I like the Town Center area since it's not in the touristy oceanfront area, but is an easy drive there. There are many restaurants to choose from near the hotel - PF Changs, Cheesecake Factory, Ruth's Chris, Bravo Italia, California Pizza Kitchen to name a few.

The hotel and room was clean, front desk staff very courteous, above average breakfast buffet, small fitness room (but clean and thoughtful forethought to have a towel and bottle of water at each machine). The indoor pool and hot tub was not crowded when we were there - a few lounge chairs to stretch out on would be appreciated. But, there were plenty of chairs and clean towels.

Overall, a pleasant stay with no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
WH, thank you for your comments on the hotel. We strive to make a great stay everytime. What's your favorite place to dine while in the downtown Virginia Beach?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past six months and don't think I will stay anywhere else in Virginia Beach. This location is away from the beach but close enough to drive down for a day. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shops. The indoor pool was clean, the breakfast was good. This last trip, we took the kids with us and the 2 queen beds room was perfect for us. Guest Service called shortly after we got checked in, and housekeeping did a great job with our room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outgoingmomoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_Gheen, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello outgoingmomoffour, we appreciate you ranking our hotel on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is centrelly located to 20-25 restaurants and shops. I'm glad you chose to come back and stay with us and were able to enjoy it with your little ones! We hope to see you guys back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
8.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Address: 252 Town Center Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is located in the downtown Town Center district! Our hotel is within walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Hotel Virginia Beach
Hilton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing