We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value on VA Beach during the busy season!”
Review of Schooner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schooner Inn
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Alice Grzesik
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Value on VA Beach during the busy season!”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My husband and I (while 27 weeks pregnant, crazy - right?... :-O) brought our one year old on his first vacation and thanks to The Schooner Inn we had a blast!

We reserved a Double Double Jacuzzi room (room 225) which included a full regular bath, kitchenette, 2 double beds (would have booked a king, but we booked late in the season), and a Jacuzzi tub overlooking the beautiful Atlantic. This hotel is the very last hotel on the VA Beach strip which has its pros and cons:
Pros:
-The south side of the beach is quieter but still within a few blocks of all the entertainment, food vendors/restaurants, and of course the pier. We walked everyday on the strip and/or the boardwalk!
-The beach is not as packed! No issues setting up our cabana mid morning with direct access to the ocean.
-Grommett Park is right next door. This new playground opened 5/2010 and is handicap accessible! Rubber matting for ground play, ramps, and lots for little ones to do while you still get some sun!

Cons:
-Actually, the only con I can think of is that the area of the beach that the hotel sits on is a designated surfing area. While surfers and swimmers are aware of each other, there were a few times that a boogie board flies directly at you. However, lifeguards are on site until 6pm (unless the waves were awesome and the beach didn't empty out) but I had no real issues wading in the water with our one year old.

Staff:
Absolutely wonderful! Checking in and out were a breeze, housekeeping was reliable and very accommodating.

Kitchenette:
Microwave, toaster, fridge (med. dorm size), set of basic dishes and cups, dish towels, small coffee maker, and small sink are provided. To cut down on cost of eating on the strip I brought my crockpot and we also brought our cooler that also plugs in as a fridge for extra space for beer/soda. This made the room so worthwhile! I brought Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches and bagels for breakfast which also cut down the cost of eating on the strip.

Jacuzzi:
Fully functioning except there wasn't any hot water??? We didn't mind since it was 95-100 degrees and we used it as a "cool tub" after a day at the beach, but we didn't know what was up with that.

General room/bathroom:
Traveling with a little one, we brought his pack and play for him to sleep in (I just felt better knowing it's something we use daily at home). The beds were very comfortable, but next time we will book a king since that is what we're used to at home. Linens were changed daily and fully appreciated with the amount of sand I know we tracked in :-) The bathroom was basically brand new. The water pressure was good, the tub very adequate.

Pool: There is a pool on site, but we didn't use it because the beach was right there :-)

Parking: The rule is one vehicle per room as they have limited parking right on site.

Wifi: I read other reviews that the internet didn't work unless you were in the lobby - I used my laptop all the time in the room and on the balcony with a full signal.

Fun close by:
We went on a couple day trips to the Norfolk/VA Zoo and the VA Aquarium. Which were both within 20-30 minutes driving distance.
-Zoo: $8 per person, children under 2 or 3 are free. Lots of animals and gardens to see - they're building a new tiger/gorilla exhibit!
-Aquarium: $17 per adult for the basic walk through which includes a "nature hike" on a boardwalk path to a second building with marsh animals. A very cool experience as they have sharks, sea turtles, and you can pet the sting rays. Imax theater shows are also available for an additional package price.

Good Eats:
We ate at Abbey Road, 11th St. Taphouse, and ordered in from Ammos' (Greek). All were delicious - but the best deal was Ammos' which is also right on the boardwalk.

Overall, the location and conveniences that the Schooner Inn provided made our trip stress free and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fierceangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    151
    57
    41
    48
See reviews for
130
148
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Spend a lot of time at the shore during the summer. Vacation home is in OC MD. This one week we decided to travel to Virginia Beach. Our Stay was everything and more. Wonder ful Oceanview/ Hot Tub Excellent. We did not have a problem with Guest service. Can tell they need to hire more people. Pleantly of activities close by. If you want to day away from the crowd this would be the place to stay.

The only problem I found ,was on the Beach. It seems Protrol needs to make people curb their DOGS!!!! To much DOG POOP......Be aware people watch where you step. I found this to be the case up and down the sure line. HAVE you PEOPLE EVER HEARD OF POOP-A-SCOOP....I know you love your dogs and all but DAMM........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BUTTAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel is the first hotel on the south end of the boardwalk. The trolly service was great to get to the center of the boardwalk. We had no problem with any of the employees, all were helpful and polite. We had a first floor suite so the amount of sand that was tracked into the room was more than the other rooms. This hotel is one of the older on the boardwalk, but it had everything we needed and the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liljimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We've been staying at the Schooner annually for twelve years for our anniversary. Over that time both the quality and cleanliness has declined greatly.

We never minded the simple decor and lack of many common amenities but for the past several stays there has always been something broken - the hair drier, the air conditioner, the refrigerator. Sometimes they have been able to fix it and sometimes it's remained broken for the 8 - 10 days that we've stayed.

The last time that we were there the room carpet felt so dirty that I wasn't comfortable walking in my bare feet and when I reached over to the nightstand to pick up my book there was a cockroach crawling across it (it was our first night there and there was no food in the room).

We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyeisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2010

For the money I paid for my stay, I thought this was an excellent deal. I was very pleasantly surprised. Rooms were cleaned each and everyday. The cleaning staff was very intrested in making sure we were comfortable. Our rooms were very comfortable, air conditioning worked excellent, nice view, excellent location. Pool was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60811Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews for this motel, but for the price we thought we would try it. The room was clean and the hot tub was great! Rooms were a little small, but when we are at the beach we really don't spend that much time in the room, so it was adequate. View from our oceanfront room was terrific. Showers had plenty of pressure and hot water. The only complaint my husband had was the air condition. He never thought it was cool enough in the room, but the rest of us were fine. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The hotel is beach front on a beautiful beach. The Inn is very nice & clean, good staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#83 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Inn

Property: Schooner Inn
Address: 215 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3606
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schooner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Virginia Beach
Schooner Inn Virginia Beach
Schooner Virginia Beach
Schooner Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing