We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT GREAT EXPERIENCE!! MUST STAY!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rustburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT GREAT EXPERIENCE!! MUST STAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

First time at this resort and it was a REAL PLEASURE! Well greeted upon arrival with friendly employees and a NICE upgrade! We went with another couple celebrating her birthday. The marquee was immediately changed to Happy Birthday Tammy! Thanks for making my friend feel so special! Staff checked on us several times and made sure EVERYTHING was perfect for us. If we had a question and they didn't know, such as if a local pub had a band, they called for us. The BEST we have EVER been treated, INCLUDING 5 star resorts! HAD A GREAT OVER THE TOP EXPERIENCE! Mike, Michelle and Evelyn were awesome! WILL DEFINITELY RETURN! Thanks for a fun weekend! Tim and Jennifer Burge

Room Tip: get the Admiral room or the Comadore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Our staff does everything in their power to give everyone the best experience possible during their visit with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends had a great weekend and we are glad that we were able to enhance your trip to Virginia Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    75
    38
    14
    25
See reviews for
154
98
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just returned from a 4-night, 5-day respite from a fantastic relaxation respite at the Ocean Sands Resort in Virginia Beach. Starting the day watching the sun rise out of the water while still relaxing in your bed listening to the waves pound the shore was a restful way to begin a great day. The pillow-top bed felt like angel-soft clouds. The heated pool, sparkling jacuzzi, and steamy sauna added to that relaxation mode I was enjoying. The facilities are tastefully decorated and the staff was so willing to assist you. It's so nice to be in a "green" hotel knowing that you are helping preserve the environment while enjoying yourself at the same time. I like to escape here whenever I need that calm and relaxation booster shot.

Room Tip: All rooms FACE the ocean, so you can enjoy the sight, smell of fresh salty air, and hear the waves p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you were able to come to our resort and have a nice, relaxing getaway. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all of our recreation amenities and enjoy the waves crashing on the beach right outside your unit window. We really appreciate you acknowledging our efforts to be a “green” property as we do everything we can to be environmental friendly. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your excellent feedback and we are really looking forward to your next escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My company was hosting a conference in Virginia Beach and we needed rooms as well as a conferece room. Ocean Sands Resort was our pick. The conference room was cozy. It was a bit cold outside and we had a fireplace in the conference room. Everyone loved the rooms and the hospitality that Mike Jones (GM) Michele Colson (VP) and Mary McGregor (Supervisor) showed us was great. I even just made another reservation for one of our employees. Thank you Ocean Sands Resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTT757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We feel very privileged that your business chose our location to hold their conference. Our amenities and professional staff make it the perfect environment for company gatherings. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and we hope that you will continue to book with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I just wanted to thank all the caring customer service people at Ocean Sands for a wonderful time the weekend of November 16, 2013. We reserved two adjoining rooms for a get together with 4 of my daughter's friends. They were kind enough to put us close to the pool and a room at the end of the hall so the girl's would not disturb anyone if they made any noise. The rooms were in excellent condition and had all the amenities to make our stay comfortable. I loved the bedding and slept so well. When we arrived they had put Happy Birthday Alexis out on the marquee. All of us had a great time in the pool and the manager, Mike even walked us out to our car in the morning as we checked out. Thanks so much to the Ocean Sands team. It was like visiting with family. We can't wait to come back again!! Faye

Room Tip: This 22nd Street location was so convenience to everything. Right in the center of the boardwalk. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are honored that you chose us to celebrate Alexis’s special day. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that everyone’s visit to the resort is a pleasant and memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that all our amenities suited your vacation needs and made your stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Front Desk Supervisor, Mary McGregor, was extremely helpful in coordinating our materials crate I needed to send ahead of my boss for an Exhibit. She went beyond her duties to make sure to secure the crate after it arrived, gave her staff the heads up and had even called me when they arrived! Then helped me get it shipped out. Now, who does that anymore? Mary does! I can't thank her enough for her awesome assistance; without her, we would not have been able to do our Exhibit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
All of our staff goes out of their way to give everyone the best experience possible while visiting Virginia Beach. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this excellent review and acknowledging the great work that Mary does. We thank you again and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent mountain, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Why do people buy timeshares? You have to clean up after yourself; no maid service. The "suite" is tiny. 3 adults can barely fit into it. The suite is so small, that there are no doors on the closets. The timeshare owners have to pay $300 a week on top of their timeshare investment to stay here. And in November, this is not a good value at all. You can get nice oceanfront motel rooms with balconies and breakfast and maid service for $39 a night. This place is marginal. The furniture is cheap particle board. We had to put a slipper between the headboard and wall because the headboard was so loose, it banged against the wall whenever we rolled over. There is no balcony and the windows are filthy. You can't take photos through the windows. Highly recommend that you ask for a room on the third floor or higher. The streetlights shine right into your room on the second floor. And even in November, loud people seem to hang out on the beach late at night. You can't rinse shampoo out of your hair due to the low flow shower head. While there are free washers and dryers, the dryer barely works at all. The indoor pool was ok, as was the hot tub. The staff were ok. If you are going to be out all day doing stuff, this place is tolerable for just sleeping. The linens are ok. The bed was comfortable, but I didn't sleep well at all. The curtains are hemmed over the AC unit, which is nice, because they don't blow out into the room. The walls are painted nicely. Oh - and the cable TV package is very limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This resort most definitely exceeded my expectations, which were pretty high, The unit we stayed in was a 1 bedroom with separate sleeping and living areas, plus a Jacuzzi bath, separate shower and two basin areas. The kitchen/diner/living room was very well appointed with a washing and dryer on the same floor.This is a really nice facility located on the boardwalk of Virginia Beach. Very Friendly staff. Clean and nicely landscaped.

Room Tip: The resort management staff has started to work with the state of Virginia on re-added the balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that all our unit amenities suited your vacation needs. We take great pride in our excellent customer service and the upkeep of our facilities. Thank you again for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing