We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Sands Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Alamar Resort Inn(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge on the Ocean(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$135
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$97
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
184
85
42
18
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
85
42
18
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree washer and dryerdoc taylorsfull kitchenpool arearooms are smallhot tubexercise roomliving roompull out couchenjoyed my stayfirst floorparking garagebalconiesunitoceansaunaboardwalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 355 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I just wanted to thank all the caring customer service people at Ocean Sands for a wonderful time the weekend of November 16, 2013. We reserved two adjoining rooms for a get together with 4 of my daughter's friends. They were kind enough to put us close to the pool and a room at the end of the hall so the girl's would not disturb anyone if they made any noise. The rooms were in excellent condition and had all the amenities to make our stay comfortable. I loved the bedding and slept so well. When we arrived they had put Happy Birthday Alexis out on the marquee. All of us had a great time in the pool and the manager, Mike even walked us out to our car in the morning as we checked out. Thanks so much to the Ocean Sands team. It was like visiting with family. We can't wait to come back again!! Faye

Room Tip: This 22nd Street location was so convenience to everything. Right in the center of the boardwalk. Just wish we could have gone a couple of weekend's later so we could have seen the Christmas lights displayed on the boardwalk.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We are honored that you chose us to celebrate Alexis’s special day. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that everyone’s visit to the resort is a pleasant and memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that all our amenities suited your vacation needs and made your stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Front Desk Supervisor, Mary McGregor, was extremely helpful in coordinating our materials crate I needed to send ahead of my boss for an Exhibit. She went beyond her duties to make sure to secure the crate after it arrived, gave her staff the heads up and had even called me when they arrived! Then helped me get it shipped out. Now, who does that anymore? Mary does! I can't thank her enough for her awesome assistance; without her, we would not have been able to do our Exhibit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

All of our staff goes out of their way to give everyone the best experience possible while visiting Virginia Beach. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this excellent review and acknowledging the great work that Mary does. We thank you again and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Why do people buy timeshares? You have to clean up after yourself; no maid service. The "suite" is tiny. 3 adults can barely fit into it. The suite is so small, that there are no doors on the closets. The timeshare owners have to pay $300 a week on top of their timeshare investment to stay here. And in November, this is not a good value at all. You can get nice oceanfront motel rooms with balconies and breakfast and maid service for $39 a night. This place is marginal. The furniture is cheap particle board. We had to put a slipper between the headboard and wall because the headboard was so loose, it banged against the wall whenever we rolled over. There is no balcony and the windows are filthy. You can't take photos through the windows. Highly recommend that you ask for a room on the third floor or higher. The streetlights shine right into your room on the second floor. And even in November, loud people seem to hang out on the beach late at night. You can't rinse shampoo out of your hair due to the low flow shower head. While there are free washers and dryers, the dryer barely works at all. The indoor pool was ok, as was the hot tub. The staff were ok. If you are going to be out all day doing stuff, this place is tolerable for just sleeping. The linens are ok. The bed was comfortable, but I didn't sleep well at all. The curtains are hemmed over the AC unit, which is nice, because they don't blow out into the room. The walls are painted nicely. Oh - and the cable TV package is very limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This resort most definitely exceeded my expectations, which were pretty high, The unit we stayed in was a 1 bedroom with separate sleeping and living areas, plus a Jacuzzi bath, separate shower and two basin areas. The kitchen/diner/living room was very well appointed with a washing and dryer on the same floor.This is a really nice facility located on the boardwalk of Virginia Beach. Very Friendly staff. Clean and nicely landscaped.

Room Tip: The resort management staff has started to work with the state of Virginia on re-added the balcony to this resort. FYI: we have a greta look at a family of Dolphins from the 1 bedroom unit facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that all our unit amenities suited your vacation needs. We take great pride in our excellent customer service and the upkeep of our facilities. Thank you again for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

the ONLY good thing about this place is the location - right on the beach. in saying that, you can't sit on the balcony because they don't have one! none! the only hotel on the strip that doesn't have a balcony. hot tub has murky green water in it and wouldn't dream of using it.pillows feel like they're stuffed with cotton balls.they advertise a full kitchen - no oven - the microwave is considered to be a convection oven when you use the rack - which we didn't even have. I would never come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19adpam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

I apologize that the Resort did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews