We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Sands Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$285
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$405
$315
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)
$367
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$335
$309
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$371
$348
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Comfort Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$121
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$354
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$250
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$378
$349
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
203
90
48
18
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
90
48
18
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscook toppool areafull kitchenrooms are smallpots and panshot tubthe sofa bedexercise roomparking deckthe general managerfirst floorbeach frontbalconiesunitoceanboardwalksauna
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 386 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had 3 condos through RCI. We had the nicest friendliest staff. We got adjoining on 2 of the condos without asking. The pool was great, there is something for everyone. Location is the key. We were on 2nd floor, and this hotel is in the middle of the beach. This hotel used to have balconies but did not meet room size standards when RCI took over. It's 2 nice size rooms with one bathroom, but privacy with a door between rooms. I observed BJ at night sweeping carpets because vacuum too noisy. Bethany, Evelyn stood out with great customer service.we could sit in our room and watch the music concert, fireworks,great places to eat and grocery store within 6 blocks.if u want maid service fresh towels everyday then go somewhere else,this is truly all about LOCATION...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our staff and the excellent service they provide. Our team members thrive on enhancing everyone’s vacation experience. We are so glad that our great location in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront and our amenities met your expectations during your stay with us. Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ideal location for our first visit to Virginia Beach! Right in the middle of things, boardwalk and beach are right out back door. Every room in the place has a ocean view, stay in the tower and get up as high as possible if you can and you can watch the beach day and night from a birds eye view. Watch all the people walking and jogging the boardwalk if your a people watcher. Its also nice to watch the horses walk and run down the beach. The resort has a free tanning bed, for those off season months or whenever you want to use it, just bring your eye protection or buy the sticker ones they have for 50 cents. Free washer and dryers on certain floors to do your laundry anytime you want. Walgreens is one block away. The kitchen in the unit is very accommodating. The living room/dining area has a TV and the bedroom also has one. 1 Bedroom unit is very spacious for 2 people, it does have a pull out bed in the sofa so a few kids would be OK but I wouldn't suggest 4 adult for the room although depending on what you want to spend and if you aren't too picky it can be done, especially if you are out most of the day enjoying in the beaches and clubs and just using room to pass out LOL.
We had a wonderful week here, I do have to mention the jets who fly past pretty much all day...you do get used to them but they are loud at first when you first arrive and aren't accustomed to them. The up points are the ocean view, the sound of the waves all day and night when you leave the windows open, the convienience of the full kitchen and dishware/appliances the unit has to offer. Everything on the strip is within walking distance even the grocery store..... although walking back with more that one bag of groceries it is best to take a cab which was a $7-8 ride. Front desk staff was very helpful and the resort was clean and we had a very nice experience, would certainly visit this resort again. This resort has two other sister resorts one is way down the strip on the low end around 5th street (I cant remember name, but its where the timeshare presentations are held) and the Atruim which is off the strip. But this one is by far the best.

Room Tip: Rooms are all ocean view no bad ones higher up the better, but thats just preference.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peppertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We are very pleased to hear that our great location and variety of amenities suited your vacation needs. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We hope to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

had a wonderful trip this year, the front staff was very helpful to all our needs and the little problems we did have were taken care of as quick as possible. Only problem was with the linen(towel) service. Never able to keep up with the demand for towels, and the place wasn't even full. Need to fix that. A far as doing things for yourself, ie: housekeeping I ain't got a problem with that although they will come in and do it if you ask. I also bring my own shampoo and soap, who doesn't on a trip. Overall was very happy with the resort, need to keep improving and renovating the place to bring it back up to Gold Status. Love the little restaurant also, Johnny Mananas. Great place for a Humptini or some top tekillya's

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Hump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Our staff thrives on knowing that we enhanced everyone’s vacation experience. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking to improve. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pay for amenities. Exchange your own towls. Change your own trash and do your own housekeeping. If you stay on the first floor, the front desk chatter echoes down the hall throughout all hours of the night. No hair drier, the wash cloths are faded, shampoo is same consistantsy as the soap. Spider web in the hall. Drunk lady banging on our window when we were relaxing, which a balcony would have prevented. Though not as bad as the drunk that peed in front of our window a previous year.

There aren't any ants or roaches this year. It's clean, not new but clean. Over past ten years haven't found any hidden spy cams in bathroom or bedroom. So its a safe hotel for women and children.

Ten years ago ocean sands was five stars hotel, great housekeeping and even delivered papers to your door. Now the restaurant isn't all that great and the best change they've made is extending pool hours. That is a huge plus having pool open 8-11. But I have better cable at home. Which is where I also have functioning appliances.

Love the view. Staff are friendly. Hotel should consider allowing dogs 50lbs and under.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimzydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations. Although we have taken great strides at the request of many of our Owners to reduce our effects on the environment, not all of our guests appreciate the extra steps the new programs require. I appreciate your feedback so that we may continually improve our customer’s experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family and I had a superb vacation. Thank You Ocean Sands!!!
We were in Condo 306(Our 1 bedroom condo had 2 bathrooms-- I think only about 10% of the condos are 2 bathrooms.)
We came in through an RCI trade-- RCI claims this Condo/Resort is only a "Silver Crown."(RCI rates all the Condos/Resorts in it's Network.)
This Resort should be "Gold Crown" Plus Plus!!!
The view alone-------You are truly OCEANFRONT-- we saw quite a few Dolphins right out the window.
The bed was very comfortable.
The unit was perfectly clean.
The people that work at Ocean Sands are there to help you make your vacation Perfect.
Some of the people that I had the pleasure to meet were Beth, Mary, Jonathon, Michelle, Mike and Sam.(All of the people were wonderful to me and my family.)
My family and I are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joewingless4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKRMike, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Our staff takes great pride in enhancing everyone’s vacation experience. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our clean and comfortable ocean view suites. Thank you so much for taking the time to individually acknowledge our dedicated VSA Resorts team members and for your excellent feedback. Thanks again for choosing the Ocean Sands and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews