We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay with family 3 kids and in-laws.”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay with family 3 kids and in-laws.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For any vacation or reservation I live by trip advisor. Reason I make sure I share my experience in hopes it helps someone else with future travel reservation. As much as others pics and reviews helps me.
You Can't believe every negative review. Everyone expectation differs. We are staying at the Ocean Sands with 3kids and 4 adults. I am very impressed with the ocean Sands; despite some of the negative reviews.The check in was easy... Parking was easy.The rooms are clean 4/5. Beds are nice and comfy. The pool is indoor. Most important beach is easily accessible from the hotel.
Hope this helps...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We appreciate your review and hope to see you back at the Ocean Sands Resort on your next vacation to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    77
    39
    16
    25
See reviews for
161
99
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had an excellent holiday, rooms were very clean and very inviting, bed very comfortable,also had a safe in closet, plenty of storage for our stuff. Had lots of hot water, supply shampoo, soap, hair dryer, plenty of towels, go to the 6th floor where the pool is no problem getting clean towels. Also the kitchen, is well equipped, I found that in the pool area their is a sun deck, and little info also they recycle beach items, which is great, i purchased a
beach chair, so before we left I donated it, so someone else can use it, great idea.
The beach is fantastic, so wide, lifeguards are on duty, they are very strict on how far you can go out in the ocean, which i like, it gets quite rough at times, never saw no debri on the beach,plenty of garbage cans around.
We didn't know, until we arrived about the Air Show, that was so much fun, we were honored to
see the Blue Angels, what a FANASTIC show they put on, Virginia Beach really knows how to
party.
Ocean Sands is an ideal location, plenty of restautants, beach stores, also, the Trolley stop
in front, for a very low price one of them will take you shopping to the malls, you can get a pass for a very low cost all.
Before I close I would like to thank the staff, so friendly, and helpful, a great bunch of people, they made you feel so special. We plan on coming back in the near future, definitely stay at the
Ocean Sands.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for review, we appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you back at the Ocean Sands Resort on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is the worst ever! Dirty bathroom, toliet take five mins to stop running after flushing! We call down stairs 5 times! Bathroom dirty, cold water not working , air condition not cooling off the hot room, chair missing from table set! People talk in front of our room all night long ! I absolute hate this hotel, it's not a resort, it's a dump!!! Urine smell in the hallway! Never again !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knowing1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
I apologize your stay was not to your standards, as it was not to our standards either. Thank you for bringing these concerns to my attention. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We thought we were going to be at a nice place on the boardwalk! No balcony. Every hotel on the boardwalk except this one has balconies. All we could do is sit on the bed and look out the window.

There was a puddle of water by the parking deck door that smelled of urine and it was on the carpet in the hall also. And of course right into our room. We told the front desk and got no offer to move us but just a "we'll let housekeeping know". Housekeeping's solution was to add a lot of perfumed carpet powder which was so strong it would choke you.

The A/C is terrible. You have to nearly freeze in the bedroom just to make the living area cool enough to sit without breaking a sweat.

The hot water in the shower will melt your skin. I used the cold wide open and barely touched the hot knob and it was still too hot.

This place should be the star hotel for VSA Resorts but instead it is an embarrassment for them.

I was so disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim_N_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
I apologize your stay was not to your standards, it was not to our standards either. I appreciate your bringing your concerns to my attention and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Ocean Sands but have two major complaints. First, the room design in unit 603 makes it nearly impossible to get any air circulation to the bedroom. Second, on the day we arrived we reported our room phones were not working. We were told that unit 604 was having a problem as well. The problem was never corrected.

A minor aggravation is the odd placement of wall mirrors. I consider myself lucky not to have walked into a wall during our 4 day stay.

But, if you plan on coming to VAB for the annual Air Show, this is the room to get. The only thing missing was a balcony. Two days worth of rehersals, plus two shows, although Sunday's was after check out, helped make the minuses acceptable. If you are a fan of combat jet noises, it is the place to be, especially if you like 6 jets flying directly at your window.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose to stay at Ocean Sands for our 4 night trip. We traveled with my mother and 5 year old nephew. The room was perfect for our stay! The price was much more affordable than getting a 2 room suite at the other oceanfront hotels. Each room is oceanfront, has a separate bedroom, a living room area with a sleeper sofa, TVs in each room, kitchenette with stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishes including pots and pans. It was nice to be able to make some meals in the hotel rather than dine out for every meal. There are dish towels, paper towels, dish detergent, and a vacuum to clean up the sand. There was also a free washer and dryer on our floor which came in handy. This room met all of our needs!

We slept with the windows open to hear the ocean and the location was convenient to walk to restaurants and events on the boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and helpful, although they could not accommodate us to check in 30 minutes early. The indoor pool was great because it rained one of the days we were there. Check out was a breeze. One thing to note is that there is not housekeeping during your stay. You can exchange your towels at the pool. If you need anything else, you can call the front desk and they will try to accommodate.

Room Tip: From floor 7 to 14, there are only a few rooms per floor! We stayed on 12 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
I’m pleased to hear your vacation was comfortable and pleasant. Should your next vacation bring you to Virginia Beach, we hope to see you back at the Ocean Sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is the perfect location, all the rooms are ocean front, this hotel is in between if you're planning to stroll around, rooms are nearly perfect, just wish they have balconies, amenities are great! Sauna tanning and jacuzzi are my favorite! Just didnt bother to swim a lot in the pool though but I had fun, one thing that stand out to me was how friendly the staff was from the front desk to the pool! Sheila is just a sweetheart! I enjoyed her company at the pool and making sure I had fun! No wonder she gets positive feedback as I read through comments. She even made me a bracelet as while we did crafts. I love the resto downstairs i forgot the name but it was mexi food mostly and the fries are awesome! Oh and i enjoyed the free popcorn from the front desk :-) all in all i would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your vacation at the ocean Sands Resort. I do hope you will choose VSA resorts again when you plan your next vacation to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#65 of 109 in Virginia Beach
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing