We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 30-May 3 2012”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The staff at the desk were cheerful and friendly. The room was spacious with a well stocked kitchen, full sized fridge, cook top stove, coffee maker, dishwasher and microwave. There was a dining table to seat four (six could easily fit but only four chairs) and a sleeper sofa in the front room. The bedroom had a huge window overlooking the ocean. We slept with the windows open at night listening to the waves roll in. There was a large parking garage with key card access to the hotel (one time our key card didn't work) and an elevator right inside the door. The halls and elevator were the only areas of the hotel that looked a little dated and had kind of a musty smell. The room itself smelled very fresh. We made good use of the hotel's gorgeous indoor pool area and the complementary tanning bed. The tanning bed was a very old model but it was sanitized before each use and worked very well. The hotel also has a massage therapist available by appointment that was excellent and affordable! My husband and I both had hour long massages and enjoyed every minute! Guests should know there is no room service during their stay but towels can be exchanged at the pool for fresh towels. There is a vacuum in the room, extra toilet paper and tissues, as well as dish soap/sponge, dishwasher tablets, little salt/pepper shaker (thimble sized), soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower and by the sink. Personally I liked not being bothered by room service, or having to plan the day around when they would be coming. The front desk graciously allowed us to stay an hour past check-out time due to our massage session scheduled at 11:00. We would absolutely stay again!

Room Tip: We liked our room on the tenth floor because it provided a spectacular view of the ocean (we could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands resort for your vacation. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the Resort on your next trip to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 346 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on 4/27 and 4/28 in room 904. The view was fantastic and the location couldn't have been better , right on the Boardwalk and the beach! The staff was very accomodating and friendly I definitely would return here and would hope for the same room. It allowed quick access to the elevator and to the pool and jacuzzi on the 6th floor. I can't believe some people had bad experiences. Our unit was very clean and well stocked. My favorite bar and restaurant was Mahi Mahs. Our favorite breakfast spot was Doc Taylors. For evening entertainment CP Shuckers was an awesome bar! Great bartenders and the owner was a great guy! Definitely a must for all you drinkers out there. only a block and 1/2 away from our resort. Abbey Road was also a good restaurant and bar 2 blocks up. The taproom was also a very good place to drink and eat!

Room Tip: 6th floor and up are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beveragegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Ocean Sands Resort. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Dirty room with soiled linens on the kitchen table upon check in, head-ache inducing smell of Lysol in the hallway, not enough hot water for showers, and no coffee refills ("one packet allowed per weekend stay"). We had a good year for four years straight but this has ruined it for us.. never again.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisy33148NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

I apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations, it does not meet mine either. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

very nice place evryone is nice indor pool 4 th floor covered parking carts to bring lugage up right on beach plus beach boarwalk view not a big kitchen good for reheating refrigarator 2 flats screen tvs dinnig table free laundry great management and employes thanks for everthing also pool towels

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrytrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we appreciate your feedback and we hope you choose the Ocean Sands Resort again for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We traded in for a timeshare so I cannot adress pricevalue but it was a good trade. Rooms a little on the small size for Va Beach and 4 people comfortable is a bit of a stretch. Having said that, it comes with a full refridgerator, stovetop, dishwasher and microwave with dishes for 4 people. This is one of the few timeshares I have been to that you have to trade out your linen when you need clean, apparently there is no housekeeping during the week even during spring break. The two room "suite" comes with a nice size flat screen in each room and a DVD player. A nice sized bathroom with a whirlpool tub. The resort offers a nice sized pool with a whirlpool with all sorts of activities offered during the week, most at no cost. The always present timeshare agents were not in sight here which was a nice change. The staff is very helpful and cheerful to almost a fault if there is such a thing. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwa7907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a great time. all rooms face the ocean. It is in the center of the main avenue on the beach with many things to do. We had our kids with us and they had the run of the hotel, they entertained the staff and the staff entertained them. Johnny's bar and restaurant was great. It was like a home away from home.

Room Tip: if traveling with more than four people, i would advise to get 2 rooms. the rooms are not very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

We enjoyed your family's visit as well and appreciate your taking the time to share your vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

It was a last minute trip and never had been to VB, well We will definitely be come back without a doubt. We had the best time and were never ever bored, there was something for everyone in the family to do. The hotel was very clean and the indoor pool was great, also had crafts daily for the kids and for the parents a tanning bed!!!! The pool staff were so nice and friendly. Thanks to Kyrsten, Lauren and Sheilla for making our day always filled with laughs and smiles!!! Everyone at the hotel were so nice and helpful!!!!! Beth, Amy, Hashia,Samantha,Joanne and can't forget our computer man Richard.....each and everyone of you were all so kind, helpful and so friendly, ALL the Staff we will miss you, you made our trip above and beyond our expectations, and for that we thank you!!!! As for the hotel is was perfect for a family of three, and you cannot ask for a better or more perfect location. We also very much enjoyed the free van tours, they were awesome and Bob our awesome tour guide. Like I said for not knowing what to expect and from never being there before we had the time of our lives, enjoying the ocean and watching the dolpins swim right out our window and the staff helping us arrange our daily activites, we could have never asked for anything better. We just left today and we want to go back already.....my son never wanted to leave everyone was so kind and friendly to him, he is gonna miss you girls something terrible, so I guess that means we will see "U ALL" next year!!!!! FROM THE BUMPS ONT CAN

Room Tip: We requested the 6th floor because of that fact that the pool, tanning, sauna and sun deck were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snooki2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your family vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort. We appreciate your individually mentioning each "Vacation Consultant" by name that made a difference in your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 109 in Virginia Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $116 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing