We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but very limited wheelchair access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Beach Resort to your Saves list
Belvedere Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Robbinsville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, but very limited wheelchair access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The wheelchair access is poor, coffee shop and pool are near impossible and they need signs and a wider ramp to get into the office. The room has a slight lip getting in and heavy door. Bathroom is *not* accessible. That said, the desk clerk gave me pretty accurate information on the phone and I can manage. Personnel were *very* nice, helpful and accurate. Being right on the beach, priceless!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GrannyOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you Granny Oakley for staying with us in spite of our lack of wheelchair access. We do have many guests that make do as you have even though it is difficult. An older building like ours just doesn't have the structural capacity for access. We hope to see you again and will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    100
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
169
123
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The only negative was that we had two beds in our room. Everything else was first class. The room we had, 309, has a great view of the ocean. The staff was very helpful with all needs. The coffee shop, though small, had great food but get their ealy or you will wait in line. We will come back there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
How wonderful to hear from our friends in Norway. Thank you so much Jack for your kind words. We will do our best to reserve a King bed on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hate to be negative but after a 3 night stay I have to question why this is one of the top rated hotels in VA Beach.I feel like this is the first time Trip Advisor let us down.

The reviews rave about charm, bikes, coffee shop, great service, etc. For us, this was just an older, somewhat worn down motel. The rooms are clean and very quiet (we slept great) but our 2 dbl bed room was small. The bathroom was the smallest I've seen in a hotel/motel. The coffee shop is really nothing special. In fact, there were bigger, open-air breakfast places just down the beach with great views and better prices. There's parking in the front (it's a tight squeeze) and a few bikes to borrow (for 1-hr) but none for smaller kids.

If the cost of the rooms were a steal I'd have a more positive view and be willing to accept what comes with staying at an older motel. But if you're paying the same rate as you would with a bigger hotel, I'd advise going with the bigger hotel, especially if you're staying for more than a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank redsky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectations. The Belvedere is definitely the alternative to the bigger hotels that you referred to and somewhat older. However, the oceanfront room rates of those bigger hotels are considerably higher than ours here on the north end. If you prefer that experience, there are several good options near The Belvedere. For those who are looking for something different and a good value, We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay was wonderful! The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and the location was perfect. There was absolutely no noise like you can get in other larger hotels. The only regret was that we had to leave! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much Sue. Your experience is what we strive for every day with all of our guests. I like to think we are not in the business of renting rooms, we are here to help everyone have the best vacation possible. Your feedback tells us we are on the right track. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the last family-run hotels on the boardwalk.
Cons:
1. Rooms need updating and are just avg size
2. No breakfast included (other than salt water taffy free to guests in lobby.)
Pros:
1. All rooms oceanfront
2. Free parking
3. Use of free adult bicycles
4. They keep partyers out

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Mom & Pop (that's us) thank you for sharing your experience with us and highlighting your favorite amenities. We continue the tradition that began in 1969 when my wife's Mom & Pop built The Belvedere. While we do try and maintain the "old school charm" of an older hotel, we have updated everything from the new pool, coffee shop furniture & carpeting, lobby furniture reupholstering. In the rooms we have new carpeting, bedding, draperies, vanity sinks, toilets, flat screen TV's, microwaves, refrigerators, lamps, and artwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for 5 days. My eight year old sons review- "We have to come back here! It is fabulous!" His favorites: Ice cream (a Popsicle cooler was added to the lobby during our stay), pool, balcony. I loved the balcony overlooking the boardwalk/ocean, the hospitality of the owners and staff, and the convenient location. The hotel provides (heated) showers near the pool to wash off sand after the beach. The rooms are quiet; we rarely heard other guests while we were in our room.

Room: The room was adequate. Lots of room for hangers, with a shelf located above. We had plenty of room for everything we brought (we did leave beach toys and chairs in the car trunk and got them out when we went to the beach). The toilet and tub are separated from the sink/vanity area. As other reviews noted, the toilet/tub area is tiny. There was some dust build up on the exhaust vent in the bathroom-that was the only dust I noticed in the room. The mattresses are a little hard, but we were able to sleep. We enjoyed having 4 pillows on each bed. This is not a fancy hotel, but it is great for families on a budget.

The Belvedere is a family oriented hotel, and we appreciate the owners efforts in providing a nice place for families to stay in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We love it when our younger guests (children) give us good reviews. With four kids and five grandkids of our own, we are all about the family vacation at The Belvedere. Thank you and your son for a Great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found the room to be in need of an update, the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable...there was a hanging light almost directly in front of the glass sliding door, you had to walk around the light when you went in or out of the door. We stayed for a week and our bill was $1700, a bit pricey for what we got in return. On the positive side, the staff was nice and the room was clean. As for the diner, I took in my own drink, skim milk, and was told not to bring my drink in again, it was against their rules to bring my own drink, I asked them if they served skim milk and they said they didnot,but I couldn't bring my own drink regardless. I went elsewhere to eat next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input. All of our beds have a cushioned topper that most of our guests seem to prefer. We are glad to remove them upon request. Also, the hanging lamp is centered over the table in each room. If the table is moved the lamp does hang a little low. I have mentioned your concern about the skim milk to our Coffee Shop manager and she agrees to take it under consideration in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#7 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#5 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing