We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, clean place!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is very clean & the breakfast at the diner is AWESOME!! Liked using the bikes to look around the area. Enjoyed our stay and I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
So glad you enjoyed the bikes and the Belvedere Coffee Shop during your stay. Your review makes us very proud and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    105
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
183
133
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A wonderful experience at the Belvedere Beach Resort. Very comfortable ocean front room. But the most satisfying part was the extremely friendly staff. They go above and beyond. The young men in the lobby helped with our luggage and when they saw we struggled with closing a chair came out to assist. The young lady that kept our room clean was so very sweet. I would definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We can't thank you enough for your five star review. The whole staff is beaming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Pro : service, friendly atmosphere, beach view, price.
Cons : starting to get old, no in-room safe.

The Belvedere is an old middle-class hotel properly maintained. The main strength of this hotel it is staff. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Since this is a small hotel, you almost feel like in a bed and breakfast. Personally, I prefer this kind of relax atmosphere to the more formal one of luxury hotel.
The individual room’s balcony is enjoyable. Every room has a full view on the beach.
The air-conditioning system is very efficient. We even have to lower it because we were freezing inside in the middle of summer.

On the negative:
There is no safe in the rooms. When you go on the beach, you can’t take your passport with you for sure.
The free wifi connection was slow at is best, and intermittent most of the time. Don’t rely too much on it. But, you are in front of the beach, you should not have to rely on the internet too much.
The rooms start to get a little old. Even if they are properly maintained and cleaned with care, it starts to show sign of age.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We appreciate all of the wonderful guests that visit us from Canada and thank you for your review. While we have no safes in the rooms we do have a safe in the office to safeguard valuables. We are working with Cox Communications right now to improve our Wifi system on our upper floors and it shouldn't be an issue going forward. With input like yours we continually try to improve our guests experience and always with Southern Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

When my family and I came to check in , the woman at the front desk was on her cell phone and held up her finger " like hold on". Sounded like b/f issues . my room smelled like smoke only after house keeper left. So I think she had a smoke break before cleaning our room. Gross. People outside our door were loud and rude. There were hairs on my pillow and in the tub. . sorry but wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riochicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have addressed all of your comments with our staff to ensure that these issues don't recur. We encourage all of our guests to bring to our attention anything that raises their concern while they are here. We will respond immediately and do our best to make sure your vacation is the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is our third year staying at the Belvedere for a week long vacation and we wouldn't stay anywhere else! All rooms are oceanfront so we went to sleep & woke up looking at the ocean. The beds & bedding are very comfortable so we were always well rested. It is located toward the north end so the boardwalk & beach are more quiet. All staff are genuinely friendly & go out of their way to be helpful. We had to postpone our trip this year due to the flu and the owners were totally accommodating even giving us the same nightly rate on an efficiency since the regular rooms were totally booked at the time we could reschedule our trip! The rooms are immaculate and the decor is very beachy & cheerful! Everything is perfect at the Belvedere! I wish I could live there all year!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sonnega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We know we aren't perfect but your kind words let us know we are on the right track. Thank you so much for the encouragement and hurry back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I traveled to Virginia Beach for the first time with two of my children. After doing my research, I chose the Belvedere based on these reviews. I could not agree more with all of the positive comments that were generated about this lovely resort. It is located in a quiet part of the boardwalk, but only a short walk from dining, entertainment, and shopping. We will make the Belvedere a regular stay during our travels to the area!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wamulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are very fortunate to have many guests that return year after year. It is always a thrill when a new guest finds us and has the experience you describe. We couldn't be happier and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Belvedere is fantastic. As soon as we entered our beachy and cheery room, we knew that we had to extend our stay. The white washed paneled walls and the view of the ocean could be taken from an issue of Southern Living. Our room, 305, was immaculate, including the microwave and the refrigerator. The solid blue drapes completely keep out the light and sun, allowing you to begin sunrise when you want it. The bathroom is divided into a vanity sink area and through a door the toilet and tub/shower. The marble vanity appears new, and has amble space for toiletries for 2 people or more. Opposite the vanity there is an additional hanging closet, to supplement the huge one in the bedroom area. The toilet and tub area is small, but not an issue at all. Some additional points that make the Belvedere a great destination:
the room's sliding glass doors and windows are spotless, no ocean spray obscuring the view; even though it is a beach hotel, no sand in any of the common areas; a 24 hour 7 Eleven only 4 blocks away, if you need something that the well provisioned snack and beverage machines don't have; only 2 blocks south to great bars and restaurants. And, the management and staff are super nice, courteous, efficient, and willing to help. The coffee shop/diner has great food choices, offers room service until 2:00 p.m., and is also manned by a very welcoming staff. You can definitely park your car and not use it until your vacation ends. We look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: You will see the dolphins from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeisureTimeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
There is no better compliment than extending your stay with us. We are thrilled by your Southern Living comment and thank you for a very thorough review. I'm sure your fellow travelers will appreciate your attention to detail as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing