We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay and very reasonable rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay and very reasonable rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

.My sister & I just returned from a four night stay and had a wonderful time. Rooms were nice and clean. Pool was always clean. Staff was very friendly. We usually stay at a more expensive place but were perfectly satisfied with The Belvedere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Happy to hear you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us, Jean. Think you'll get a chance to come back again soon? We hope so! Thanks so much for reviewing us the other day and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Best wishes,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    101
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
176
126
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent this past week at Virginia Beach...a spur-of-the-moment getaway for a few days. I stayed at an affordable "boutique" hotel the first three nights and then decided to add on a fourth night. I called The Belvedere on the outside change that they may have a room on a Friday night in the peak of the season. They did have a room, and the helpful person who assisted me on the phone was there to greet me at check-in as well. I never walked up to the front door of the hotel that I wasn't greeted by someone holding the door open and welcoming me in. This is an older but well-maintained property with room décor that reminds me of a 70's beach house on the Outer Banks. Dated, but very clean, comfortable, and quiet. I'm already looking forward to my next visit to Virginia Beach - only this time, I will book the entire stay at The Belvedere. And the coffee shop...? Well, unfortunately I didn't have time to wait in line this morning. But I hear it's fantastic and quite an institution in Virginia Beach, and I look forward to checking it out next time. This was so much more enjoyable than staying in a chain hotel. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Michael! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Next time you'll have to check out the restaurant—it's definitely a favorite. Enjoy the rest of your summer and come back soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcanum, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This Ohio family has traveled to Virginia Beach and stayed at several hotels through the years. This Summer (2013), at the Belvedere Beach Resort was the best stay ever! Though it's one of the smallest (and probably one of the only family-run) hotels on the beach, the service and attitude of the staff was excellent. This place was comfortable, quiet and had great service. The housekeeper we had (Kimberly) was so nice and catered to our every need. The office staff was always there 24/7 to help with anything! We even had a nice talk with the maintenance man in the elevator one day! LOVED the free bicycles for guests. The pool was clean. Our only regret was that we didn't get to eat at the diner....it was always so full!! We will definitely stay at this hotel again!! Already looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aw, way to make our day Shannon! Your kind words mean a lot to us and we can't wait to share your compliments with the rest of the team. Thanks so much for the stars and come back soon!

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When I booked our trip to the Belvedere I really didn't know what to expect! Sometimes places look great on the web but not so nice in person. Not so with the Belvedere! From my phone call with the owner (owner!!!) to make our reservations to the wonderful greeting on arrival (room ready and waiting) we have a fantastic experience. The room was just as advertised and the staff and owners couldn't have been nicer. We were given tips on great places to eat in the area and were very happy with all the recommendations. We are always looking for smaller- family run places to stay and this was one of the best ones we have found anywhere, We hope to go back soon. Oh and don't forget the great diner- good food and fun!

Room Tip: Try the 5th floor- great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks so much for the stars! It's wonderful to hear that we managed to go beyond your expectations and that your family had such a fantastic stay. Hopefully we'll get to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of four just returned from a three day stay at the Belvedere. It was our first time staying there and we had a wonderful time! We truly appreciated the wonderful staff and their dedication to making this quaint, family-run business a standout.

We have stayed in glitzy high-rises, complete with glamorous amenities. Many times we left feeling that we paid way more than we should have. Many of these places were not as clean as the Belvedere. Our room there was spotless. The rooms must have just been redone; the nautical theme was light and airy. This hotel has it all: friendly, helpful people, a great little coffee shop/cafe that has a reputation from all of the locals as being the best on beach, free bikes to ride everywhere, free parking. All rooms are oceanfront with a great view of the best end of Virginia Beach, the North End. The boardwalk is right outside as well. Most Virginia Beach hotels are pricey, but the Belvedere makes it affordable for a family and you really feel like you didn't overpay at all.

We arrived in VB early, about 10:15 on a Friday. We realized that our room wouldn't be ready until later, but we wanted to take advantage of the great weather. We changed and were on the beach asap. At 10:45 our cell phone rings, saying our room was ready! We have been to hotels where we have been waiting until 5:30-6 to get into our room! I think that because of its size and the fact that it is a family run hotel, the owners are able to hire a tremendous staff and enough housekeepers to really make this an outstanding choice. We will be back and we will gladly recommend it to friends and family. I hope they keep this place going for a long time. There aren't too many nice, family run hotels left like this. It is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Happy to hear your short stay was so sweet! Given our dedication to being a family-friendly resort, we truly appreciate your compliments. Thanks so much for sharing and come back soon! We love the chance to see a familiar face.

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just finished a five day vacation at Belevedere and had a great stay! This quaint hotel is in a great spot, just a little north of the main action, far enough away but not too far. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with everything working as it should. The owners and staff couldn't have been friendlier, they seem to honestly care about making sure that all of their guests enjoy their stay! Every room had a breathtaking view of the boardwalk, beach and ocean!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Enjoyed reading your five-star review, Dean! We're happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay, and appreciate you sharing this with others on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! I spent three weeks here, and enjoyed it thoroughly. Staff is friendly, and they stay on top of keeping it clean. The coffee shop is a nice treat for breakfast. If I ever come back toVA beach, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for the stars! It's great to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay with us, and we'll make sure to share your compliments with the rest of the team. Hope to see you the next time you're in town!

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#7 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing