We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best VA Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best VA Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed at The Belvedere Hotel many times over many years on vacation in Virgina Beach. Every experience was a pleasant, staff was friendly and helpful. Clean and affordable rooms right on the beach. Even our luggage was brought to our room.

I have stayed at a few other nice beach front hotels at Virginia Beach, up and down the east coast and over seas. I have to say this has been the nicest hotel for the price in all of Virginia Beach and most of the east coast. I am comparing this hotel to less expensive too pricey hotels in VA Beach area. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelley804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Honored that you think we're the best hotel in the area! What a compliment, thank you. We enjoyed reading your thoughtful five-star review from last fall, and truly appreciate your support. Come back soon! We always love seeing a familiar face.

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    103
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
178
128
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a little late, but hopefully someone will find it useful. I took the family here in mid September for a 5 day get away. All the previous reviews commenting on the very friendly and accommodating staff, hotel cleanliness, and relative good value are 100% correct. Here's a few other things we found noteworthy: every upper floor room overlooks the ocean - and provides excellent viewing of the dolphins that swim by each morning. The hotel pool is small but immaculate - and oh so warm! It's a great place to frolic after a few hours in the sand. The diner is reasonably priced and does a very good job with breakfast items - but it's rather small and can fill up quickly. But there are several decent restaurants within walking distance. Since we went in September, traffic wasn't bad... which was fortunate since many VB attractions are toward the south end (like the amusement park). The only downside to the hotel is it's age. Don't get me wrong - everything is kept in a state of good repair and the decor is quite nice. But if you want a modern hotel with all the bells and whistles (and price) then look elsewhere. But if you prize cleanliness, friendly staff, responsive maintenance, and great value - the Belvedere is what you're looking for. We will return.

Room Tip: If you would enjoy watching the sunrise or dolphins swim along the beach, get an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Budman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Belvedere has a nice location near the north end of the boardwalk. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, and the small pool is a nice. Breakfast at the cafe was excellent, although my wife and I did mot enjoy lunch the as everything seemed too greasy.

My main gripe was with the air conditioning unit in the room. It was so loud that if you put the TV to max volume, you still couldn't hear it. It was just way to noisy for me and kept me up at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FudRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us last fall! You've hit all the high notes, from a great staff to an excellent cafe, and we're happy that you enjoyed your visit.

That said, I'm sorry to hear that the air conditioning was so disruptive. Did you let us know? I can only understand how frustrating this must have been, and can assure you we'll look into ways to resolve the problem.

If you have any other comments or concerns, don't hesitate to share them with us. We know there is always space for improvement, and would love to "wow" you with a five-star visit! Thanks again for sharing, and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The number of stars someone rates a hotel is about as subjective as it gets. I struggled with rating the Belvedere because most of the hotels my wife and I stay at are in the Caribbean. However, I felt the Belvedere deserved 5 stars because it delivered on what it promised; Clean, Friendly, Functional, On the Boardwalk and Affordable.

My wife and I were at the Belvedere from 9/24 - 9/27. We wanted to get away from work for a few days and drove down from Richmond. We arrived a little early and went to Rudi's for lunch. We showed up at the Belvedere at 1:30 and were greeted by the owner(s) and given our key as well as an explanation of the amenities with smiling enthusiasm. Heck, some of the $500 a night hotels on the strip don't make that good of a first impression.

We were given Room 506 which was right off the clean, large elevator. The room smelled nice and appeared very clean. The bathroom is small but had recently been re-tiled. No wear and tear indicators even though the hotel was built in 1969. There was a small balcony with really nice view of the ocean and boardwalk. We asked for a kind bed which we received. I would have preferred a pillow top but that is really getting picky. The room came with a wall mounted flat screen TV, a microwave, a mini-fridge, a bureau, hair dryer, bath amenities, a writing desk, a small table with 2 chairs, a bureau and about 6 lamps. Everything worked perfectly.

The hotel offers free use of bicycles to ride the 3 plus miles of bike lanes adjacent to the boardwalk. There is also a small pool in the parking lot which we did not use. There is also a small attached coffee shop. The aura was in line with a time when things were simpler and people were easier to please. We had pancakes one morning with coffee and the next morning had just coffee and an English muffin. One day we asked for 2 coffees to go which they cheerfully accomodated us with.

Nights and mornings were quiet which, I guess, would make sense since it wasn't the height of summer with their crowds. The hotel is on 36th street which is at the extreme north end of the boardwalk so it is ideal for a quiet getaway.

I would return to this hotel and I also want to thank to owner and his family for their fine hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler38richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us last fall! It's gratifying to hear that we lived up to your expectations this past September, and we can't wait to share your praises with the rest of the team. You've hit upon exactly what we aim for, and it means a lot to us. We hope you'll come back again soon! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This destination was perfect for my two teenage sons and I. It was spacious enough that we weren't on top of eachother. The accomodations were clean. The entire staff was so helpful and curtious. Having the diner right there was perfect for breakfast. And the boys loved having the pool there for night swimming. We loved the free bicycles that were provided; that was a nice family activity. The price fit our budget perfect and we felt like we got more out of it than staying in the hotels. The boys actually liked that it was out of all of the hussle and bussle of the "heart" of everything yet close enough that we could participate in everything. Will definitely stay here again. What a treasure!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaReiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Happy to hear about your perfect stay, Teresa! It's nice to know that even your boys enjoyed the hotel—teens can be a tough crowd to please, so that's saying a lot! Think you'll get the chance to stop back again this summer? We'd love to have you back! Thank you for the five-star review you wrote last fall, and take care.

Best wishes,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Belvedere earlier this month. Our entire family came to support one of our sons who was running in the Rock and Roll Half Marathon. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and had a wonderful view of the beach. We also enjoyed breakfast at the coffee shop. The parking lot is small so get a good parking spot and leave your car there during your stay if you can. The new pool is great for those of us who can't spend the day on the beach. Would definitely return there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the third time we've stayed @ the Belvedere Hotel and would definitely go back again. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (especially Bren). It's affordable and extremely clean & every room has an ocean view. Bicycles are provided which we rode twice a day and the pool is clean .
Also the adjoining restaurant has the nicest staff and the best breakfast and lunches .
Truly, this is a GEM!!!
Alot of the family run hotels are disappearing along the strip and being taken over by the Big Chains. Please don't allow this to happen to the Bevedere!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#7 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing