We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent. A real hidden gem. 4 nights with kids. Great location on the beach with chairs and umbrellas and bikes. Walked or biked to everything. Great little joint attached for bfast and lunch. A winner.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank popovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We love nice surprises! Glad to hear the family had a good visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    105
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
183
133
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is so nice to know that there is a hotel that you can offer you TRUE southern hospitality in a beach setting. When I called to make our reservation, I was told, "y'all come on now, your room is ready!" This was at 10AM!! We didn't have to wait till the end of the day to check in....two thumbs up from the start. We arrived at the hotel to check in and there was a parking space for us at no charge. The parking lot is right there, no walking out to a parking garage . This makes packing and unpacking a breeze.......two thumbs up again. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. the bellhop brought our bags to the room very quickly. The room was very clean, no mold in the bathroom, grout was fresh and white, no weird smells, and the carpet did not show any signs of stains. We had free WI-Fi , a new flat screen television, and new A/C. Also, the bed was very nice and comfy with a white top sheet over the comforter .....no ugly rayon bedspreads here! The room was quiet as the walls are thick and the room decor was true beach all the way, beautiful pecky pine walls that are original and have not been painted over...thank goodness!! We had a little kitchenette with a fridge, very important when staying at the beach!! All of the rooms are ocean front with no worry about having to look over the parking lot. the ocean waves are great and there is plenty of wide beach to enjoy. our beach towels were accidentally left at home but no problem, we bought some in the lobby with The Belvedere logo on them, kitchy and cool! We would love to be able to purchase playing cards with the hotel logo on them, hint,hint, and cool old photos of hotel life in the 60's would be really fun to see hanging up in the lobby to add to the retro feel of The Belvedere!The lobby has yummy gourmet snacks and drinks. They also have snack and ice machines in a few places should you need a midnight treat. We opted to take a swim in the pool before heading to get something to eat (lots of good restaurants within walking distance). The pool closes at 10 so no loud noise late in the evening. The free beach bikes were great as we did not have room in our car to bring our own. It was a fun way to explore the residential side of town that The Belvedere is is near. The cafe downstairs is open for breakfast and lunch and is retro all the way....great food while looking at the waves and you feel as though you have stepped back in time with the cool 1960's decor....really cool! The hotel was built in the 1960's and stays true to it's origins and as such, it is closed for the Winter months. Hotels didn't have wall safes in the rooms in the 60's so keep your grandmother's pearls at home.......she would be horrified if you got sand on them anyway! If you want a vintage hotel with really clean and comfy rooms and a fantastic staff that treats you like family, The Belvedere is for you!! We cannot wait to go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dixiedoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
That is our goal, the way it is supposed to be. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, clean, family friendly place you can't go wrong here. When you walk through the door at the Belvedere. you know this place is different. The staff is attentive and very pleasant, from the bellhops, the front desk, the housekeeper, to the guy cleaning the pool. It was a pleasant change from the higher priced, mega resorts, that we usually stay at.

The Belvedere is not the shiniest place on the beach. It has aged gracefully, you can tell the staff takes pride in keeping it in good shape. Kimberly our housekeeper, really took care of the room, wish we could bring her home with us! We are not talking condo's here. The rooms are small hotel size. The walls must be thick, I never heard to much going on, outside of our own room.The bathroom is small, but adequate. There are only 5 floors, but all rooms are oceanfront, with adequate size balconies; with an excellent boardwalk / oceanfront view.The parking lot is small, (one car per room). The staff works hard to make it as painless as possible to get parked. If the lot was near capacity the staff would usually come out and assist getting us parked. The pool was nice and matched the size of the hotel well. It was never overcrowded, while we were there. No hot tubs or saunas, just a nice clean pool. There is a small coffee shop/ diner on site, which we had breakfast at which was very good. People line up to get into the place, after eating there I know why. It's open for breakfast and lunch.

So if you need fancy decor, lots of extra space, a patio instead of a balcony, and need more than 1 person in the bathroom at a time, you may be disappointed.

The beach was beautiful in front of the hotel, it never seemed as crowded, as the other areas we could see. The city takes good care of it, and manicures it every morning. One of the largest cleanest beaches, I have been on. There is a noticeable police presences on the beach checking for, whatever they check for. The boardwalk is nice to walk on. Watch the bike path on the boardwalk! It can be a busy place and some riders are going to fast for such a congested area. The hotel/beach is occasionally in the flight path of navel aircraft and can get a little noisy. But it is always cool to see fighter jets up close and personal. Never heard the aircraft real early or passed sunset.

Staying at The Belvedere was a very relaxing. enjoyable experience for our family. It was nice to feel so welcome, and taken care off. Something that is hard to come by these days. Our thanks goes out to the staff, for making our vacation so enjoyable (we stayed 2 extra days, we liked it so much!). Thanks Belvedere for a great vacation ! We hope to come back soon !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kbcdrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Wonderful Guests make wonderful vacations. Thanks for making our jobs a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel ticked all the boxes - comfortable, quiet (solid brick walls), great location, awesome view, friendly staff and good value.

I'd definitely stay here again - it's a winner.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RTWTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We love hearing from our Australian friends. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The entire staff was super friendly and courteous. The view from the balcony was spectacular. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable. Small bathroom, but hey I didn't plan on staying in there. Would definitely recommend. Going back in July 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piscesang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
If we can make it there, we'll make it anywhere. Thank you New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel stay was my family's first discovery on TripAdvisor. Like the title says, read the reviews. This is NOT the Hilton. It is not the newest or most beautiful hotel in Virginia I am sure but....

It is a throwback, it reminds me of the hotels I stayed at when I was a child. It has the feel of a family owned business, EVERYONE is friendly. We did not encounter one employee who was not as helpful and willing to please as could be.

We stayed in room 501 which is an efficiency. It is probably the cheapest efficiency you will find on the boardwalk. It had a small coffee pot, stove top, oven, small refrigerator and sink. The dishes provided were clean and really every surface of the kitchen was spotless when we arrived. The housekeeper asked us every morning when we would pass how our vacation was and what we needed.

The hotel is at the northern end of the of the boardwalk, away from the crowds at night so it is very family friendly. But even though the hotel is on 36th Street there are some EXCELLENT places to eat within a few blocks (Taste Unlimited!) And nothing is very far away because VA Beach has great public transportation.

This was our first trip to VA Beach as a family. And The Belvedere is a big reason that we will be going back again next year.

Room Tip: If you're going to be there for a few days get one of the effciencies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Childhood memories of great vacations! Like I say at the end of our website video, "What will be your memory at The Belvedere?"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Not a review, but a question... all these great comments on the hotel,service,etc, but how's the beach?

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HeRiKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Check out the video on our website. You'll see one of the most beautiful beaches on the East Coast with a great boardwalk and bike path over two and a half miles long and more activities than you can fit into a week long vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing