We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best on the Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Beach Boardwalk

Virginia Beach Boardwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This three-mile concrete promenade is always busy with bicyclists, strollers, diners and people-watchers. During the summer, three oceanfront stages offer nightly entertainment.
Warren PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best on the Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The boardwalk in VaBeach is the best on the coast. Stroll, pedal, roller-blade you way along the ocean, stopping for food and drinks or shopping along the way. Everything is convenient; lots of outdoor dining with ocean-view. Much better than Myrtle Beach because of the accessibility. At the south end is a handicap playground/beach access area ideal for those with physical challenges. There's a playground in the sand just south of mid-beach; a wonderful wooden pier, and free concerts on stages spaced along the boardwalk. Depending on your travel dates, you can take in a craft show, see sand sculptures, drive the boardwalk to see the Christmas lights or enjoy any of the dozens of activities that VaBeach plans for entertainment throughout the year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,464
    1,375
    437
    109
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The boardwalk is the best of the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Virginia Beach Boardwalk is the best aspect of the Virginia Beach oceanfront! It extends a mile or so and offers something to see/do along the whole way. On the ocean side the sea is a bright blue beyond the sand; on the land side are plenty of places to sit & rest/get a snack/find a meal at restaurants with outdoor seating overlooking the boardwalk and ocean. Public restrooms are conveniently spaced. The visitor can visit the small Coast Guard Museum, look at the giant King Neptune or just people-watch. On Saturday night the boardwalk is especially busy with all kinds of sights. In the summer music of all sorts is available for free; some weekends have art shows or other special attractions. Roller skaters and skateboarders weave through the walkers, and a bike path is reserved for cyclists; some are the conventional type and others are carriages with bicycle pedals for multiple passengers. One thing is for sure-you won't be bored!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I expected........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The boardwalk at VA Beach was just not what I expected.........it was very lovely however. Unlike the boardwalks in MD and DL this one is paved...........and NO shops!!!!! All the usual shopping is located one street over. In lieu of shops thare are handicap accessable playgrounds ajacent to the paved walkway. How GREAT is that------nicely done!!!!!
But I missed the shops, the arcades, and the boardwalk fries..............
I like surprises.....kind of

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerBix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strawberry, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“first boardwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the first time we had ever been to a beach with a boardwalk and we really enjoyed riding bicycles and walking up and down it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DKMBJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I were staying at this hotel to visit our son and his family. We had the best stay at the beach in many years. I would like to especially have you notice Joey, LeAnn and Victor as they are stand outs in your hotel, they assisted us in every way that they could. I am on oxygen for the rest of my life due to an illness, and they made sure that I had eveything that I needed to insure my safety in the room. The restaurant (Rhonda) and Meghan were wonderful. The breakfast was great. I will recommend this hotel to everyone that I know coming to the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Beach Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing