We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time”

Virginia Beach Boardwalk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This three-mile concrete promenade is always busy with bicyclists, strollers, diners and people-watchers. During the summer, three oceanfront stages offer nightly entertainment.
Drakes Branch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Boardwalk was clean and everyone was courteous. Our Bassador enjoyed "strutting his stuff" on the boardwalk as much as he did on the sand.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BurkeVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,565
    1,406
    447
    112
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boardwalk”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

VA Beach has done a wonderful job of restoring and maintaining the boardwalk area.
There is a walking lane and a bike lane; lots of plants; beautiful sculptures!
The area is well lit at night. It is clean - we saw the street sweeper coming by each day.
If you haven't been to VA Beach in some time, come back I guarantee you'll be pleased!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, united kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neptune Festival”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent - parade, live music, international sand sculpture competition, book well in advance as the weekend gets very expensive and most decent hotels book out. Beach excellent. Nearby airbase means lots of jets and helicopters flying overhead - not good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic..... :)”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I was only able to enjoy the boardwalk during the day once out of the three days my family was there. I was able to enjoy it with my fiance a few nights while we were their. It's a difference between the atmosphere day and night, and I by far enjoyed the nights on the boardwalk. We went the last week of season so it was quiet, peaceful, and romantic! We walked on the walk and beach so long we didn't even realize. The bike path seemed to be good; a lot of bikers. The day boardwalk is very busy and just a nice sight to see while @ the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Srpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Experiance”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I are here on our last day of our Honeymoon. We almost cant wait to leave. I must say we shall never return. There is nothing to do here unless your into walking a baron boardwalk, riding bikes, skate boarding, or walking your dog. That is mostly what you will see at the waterfront and everywhere else for that matter. We stayed at an oceanfront hotel expecting a bit of action and fun. Found nothing. Why they call it a boardwalk i do not know. It is nothing but a concrete slab with a couple of memorials and statues spread out . There is nothing but restaurants and places to drink. Shopping is mediocre at best Lots of identical shops within a block of one another. If you are into surfing. dont bother either. the surf does not exist here unless the weather is bad. Yes we are here at the tail end of the season but everything is open and there is still nothing. During peak season i just see more of the above which would have made it even worse. The jets soaring overhead was something we did enjoy. As well as watching the ships in the shipping lane. that was about the highlight of our stay. watching boats and planes yay! The dolphins were nice too. So if you have a bunch of extra cash to spend on nothing come on down and have a blast! Otherwise choose a beach resort with activities other than a bird museum and a coast guard museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aimee0372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Beach Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Beach Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing