We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As far as parks go, this one is awesome”

Mount Trashmore Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As far as parks go, this one is awesome”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a great park! We saw it from I-264 when coming into Virginia Beach and my 9-year-old son insisted we go there during our vacation. It has running/biking trails around the base of the "mountain" and 2 playgrounds. One of the playgrounds is quite amazing with the equipment it has. There is also a half-pipe "facility" for skate boarders, but it was being used by people on BMX bikes when we were there. The top of the "mountain" is quite wide and many people were up there running around; there was even a group of people playing flag football.

I'm glad we gave into our son to go visit Mount Trashmore during our vacation!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lkl6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    131
    33
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to walk”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This park is not the most scenic park in the area, however, if you are looking for a safe place to walk and get some exercise, Mt Trashmore is great. We come here a couple times a week with the dog. The trails are well maintained and they have nice areas for the kids to play.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland, US
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“It was a trash pile?”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place was great. I needed to kill a bit of time and do a little work on the laptop. Just sat around and noticed all of the people out enjoying themselves. Still can't believe this was once a trash heap.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaysaTravelinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“vision of happiness”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

since being in Virginia while visiting my daughter, i fell in love with this place instantly! amazingly beautiful with ample trails and and places to even have little gatherings. there is a park for the children and this is a very dog friendly area. loved taking my daughters dog there and just hanging out,beautiful lake in the middle and a huge gigantic hill to climb. people there all time, very inviting place. wish that other states,cities everywhere would take this idea and turn some trash into good!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tramirez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great time and a lot of activities!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a great afternoon. Our son loved the playground and climbing the "mountain" was a great time for him.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Loserboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Trashmore Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Trashmore Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing