We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice carefree family spot.”

Mount Trashmore Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice carefree family spot.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

First of all, literally turning refuse into something useful is amazing, There's a nice hill to climb or go up the steps to get a view, to fly kites or just picnic or play. The children's playground is really great, built for durability and safety. Whatever you like to do, walk, run, lie quietly on the grass, get outdoors and enjoy the park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    132
    33
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Making Lemonade out of Lemons”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a great urban park, which had formerly been a trash dump. I have seen similar mounds throughout the US, and was impressed how this has been converted to a park. There is plenty of open space, and a nice urban lake. Many locals were walking and exercising here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for the kiddos”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful place to take the kids. Cant wait to take my grandson back....good place to have quality family time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank twiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Probably the best park in Va. Beach”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mount Trashmore is more than a local park, it's a local landmark. You can see it clearly from the highway. We go at least once a year for the 4th of July fireworks show. Sometimes we'll head there at other times throughout the year as well.

It's large with paths throughout and a couple of lakes, and of course, the "mountain" that used to be trash. It also has playground stuff for the kiddies and a skate park that gets a lot of use. The rest of the park is great for just hanging out, walking your dog, having a picnic, or rollerblading.

My only beef with it is that it could use more parking, especially during things like the 4th fireworks. It's sometimes even difficult to find a spot during "regular" times. Other than that, it's a great place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Even thought this is a place that is like a park feeling and popular, you should be aware, this is located on a DUMP site....been here once but when I found out afterwards......theres NO way I would back....I dont understand of all the places that would make a great park, why would they even consider making one where tons and tons of trash have been dumped....as a health care worker....virus grows in the dark...NOT healthy place to let my children play...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Trashmore Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Trashmore Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing