We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

The Room was great! The view was beautiful. I was skeptical at first because of some of the reviews, but I did have a good time there. The breakfast area was very plain and drab, like an abandoned bingo hall, but I only woke up on time for the free breakfast ONCE. :-) Overall, it was a great experience, and I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    357
    136
    61
    55
See reviews for
460
269
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2006

My wife and I and three boys (ages 10, 5, and 2) enjoyed our spring break in VA Beach.
The Barclay Towers provided a clean, nice suite with full kitchen on the ocean front.
It is not the Ritz Carlton, but we found it clean, well kempt, with polite and helpful staff.
It is on the end of the strip, but it was off season so not much was happening on the strip.

Noted construction beginning next store, was not loud or intrusive. The boys were able to find our hotel quickly from the boardwalk by spotting the contruction crane.

Pool is nice (indoors). Hot tub and spa are good as well.

Kitchen is fully functional for easy breakfast and lunch prep. Did dinner dining out or ordered in. Mattress on pull out bed was a bit uncomfortable, however...we brought an inflatable queen mattress and placed it over the hotel mattress....worked fine for my wife and me...the mattress well worth the investment if you will stay more than a couple nights.

Noted previous reviews rating this hotel poorly, if you are a normal-experienced traveler and not too "hoity-toity" this hotel is an excellent bargain. If we go to VA again, would not hesitate to stay at the Barclay Towers again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2006

I stayed at the Barclay Towers for three nights in March on a Last Call vacation. It was wonderful! The staff were friendly and accommodating. The entire resort was under renovation, and I got a newly renovated room with NEW EVERYTHING. The oceanfront balcony provides breathtaking views of the Boardwalk below.

I visit Virginia Beach several times a year, and own at another resort on the Boardwalk. I have to say, the newly renovated Barclay is a treat.

The only drawback was the very noisy construction next door (a new hotel), but that was clearly stated in reservation materials, so as not to be a surprise. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed on the 8th floor at Barclay from March 11, 2006 until march 18th. We had a great time. This hotel is undergoing complete renovation!! It's about time! Our suite had nice new carpet, all new kitchen - I mean cabinets, sink, refer, stove, everything. New bathroom tub and shower head. New tile floor in hallway and bath. It was like a brand new hotel room. There was no more musty smell.

The entire staff at the front desk was great. I called about no cork screw; one was delivered in less than 10 minutes. The girl was there every morning about 9:30 or ten to remove trash and straighten up.

No I did have one big complaint; the TV channel selection is about as bad as I have ever seen. Oh well you don't go to the beach to watch TV.

They have a nice fitness area. Good size indoor heated pool (I mean like 83 degrees), sauna, steam room (nice), hot tub and limited exercise equipment.

The breakfast is strictly 'continental'. Just pastries, cold cereal, english muffins and bagles. Some juices, milk, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There are NO eggs, bacon sausage or fruit. It's like an all carbohydrate breakfast. It won't stay with you very long. lol.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hatterasjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2006

My family stayed at the Barclay this past summer. I chose this hotel because we had stayed there about three years earlier and loved it. This time, not so. After reading the bad reviews, I couldn't agree more. The rooms are definitely so very smelly, I hate to imagine what's gone on in them! The carpeting is dirty, grimy, full of sand. Our first night there, we discovered, after a blood curdling scream from our daughter, that there was a huge infestation of flying ants in the corner by the big window next to the balcony door. And, I mean HUGE, they were nesting inside an upturned area of carpet. I called the front desk, this was about 11 pm on a Friday and was told that nothing could be done until MONDAY, no one was available. Totally unacceptable. After a lot of complaining from my two teenage girls at the front desk, they finally sent up a security guard dressed in a black shirt, pants, jacket and cowboy hat! (this wasn't Halloween or Margi Gras time folks!) I didn't know what to think, but I let him spray the area, it did nothing. I asked him to vacuum, he said the vacuums were all locked up. So, I took the girls, got in the car and went to the 24 hour Walmart. Very nice store by the way. I bought a small hand vac and a couple of cans of good bug spray. Oh, and I also bought silicone caulk to seal up the nest area. Went back, cleaned up all the mess, sealed up the nest area, went to sleep around 2:30 am. Then, being totally skeeved, the next day I set to cleaning up in earnest, everywhere I could, because the cleaning staff is almost totally useless. I agree, you have to beg for towels, beg for the room to be cleaned, everything is a struggle at this hotel. One bright spot, there was a very helpful and friendly young man working the desk after midnight that first night; he was the only staff member worth mentioning that I met on this trip. What a shame, this hotel has SO much potential, such a fantastic location. I hope the Barclay Towers cleans up their act or I hope some other better establishment takes them over. If you're going to VA Beach, please choose another hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DONNA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2005

The staff was nice and helpful. Had asked to be on a lower floor when I made our reservation - and was actually put on the 4th floor! Very quiet hotel on a good end of the beach. Rode the trolley a lot - and that was fun! Had a great view of the ocean. Suite was very spacious - tho a little backwards in that the bedroom was on the door side and the living room/kitchen was on the ocean side. The decorations were somewhat outdated and the bathroom needed some touch up work. The housekeepers didn't come at all - even tho we were only there 2 nights - the bed wasn't made and there were no clean towels. Was a musty smell when we got there, and we told the front desk about it, and they took care of it w/Fabreeze (actually -they gave us the bottle...). Breakfast was VERY disappointing. Not much to it - wound up going elsewhere to eat. Probably won't stay here again - can find better for the money.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonshinex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2005

I was very impressed with the hotel expecially after all of the reviews. My husband and I took our 2 year old son. The only down side I found, which to us was a huge downside was we were on the 8th floor, and if my son would have tripped on the way out to the balcony he could have easily gone right through the balcony railing. I don't think they are up to code. But, that was the only problem. Everything else seemed great.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Property: Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing