We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Memphis, IN
15
Reviewed May 23, 2005

My family and I just returned from staying at the Barclay Towers for a week. It was near the 'quiet' end of the beach and we were able to sleep with no disruptions from noise throughout the night. The unit was clean and sufficient for our needs. I would have liked the unit to contain a full size refriderator though. The staff was friendly and helpful. Some reviews had stated a 'smell' so I just brought along some air freshners. Although, I don't believe we really needed them. My husband and I are already talking about visiting the area again and we will probably stay here again. The internet weekly rate was great! I really loved staying right on the boardwalk. We had a really good time.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,113 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Portsmouth, NH
13
Reviewed January 4, 2005

We have stayed at the Barclay Towers a number of times and found it to be a very nice facility right on the beach. Personnel were always friendly and helpful during our stay at Christmas 2004.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia Beach, Va
12
Reviewed November 1, 2004

I stayed at the Barclay recently as part of my wedding. We had many of our guest stay there as well. That was the first problem, guests would have reservations comfirmed but when they arrived it turned out they had lost the reservation. This happened to two of my guests that I am aware of. Another thing I didn't appreciate was that my room was not cleaned for two full days and on the second day of being left untouched they actually tried to rent the room to someone else. Thats right some guy walked into my room with a key that the front desk had just made for him. #1 I was in there, and #2 it was a total mess. Beds not maid, no towels. When this was mentioned to the front desk the clerk there had absolutely nothing to say, no remorse no appology not a thing. When housekeeping was asked about the lack of cleaning by management they completely lied and told them that I said we only need towels. I only asked for towels from the front desk, and only when I completely ran out since my room saw no service until Saturday Morning. (I checked in on Wednesday Morning) lets not forget also that this is not the cleanest hotel to start with. Also go ahead and check around the door frame of your room and you can see where most have been mangled from people trying to break in. When you hear the screaming in the halls at 3am you will see perhaps what happened to the doors. Quite pleasant. So if you dont plan on actually being in your room and certainly dont plan on sleeping then this is the place for you.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia beach, Va
11
Reviewed October 31, 2004

Planned event with out of town guess to attend and lost half of the reservations..guests were suppose to be on same floor, they were scattered all over...Rooms were not cleaned for 3 day until we complained..booked our guests rooms while they were still their..plus book to other knowing the room was still occupied and not cleaned...an item was left in one of our guest room was not turned in , it was taken by an employee..horrible stay!!!! Top it the management didn't care!!!!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ruckersville, VA
13
Reviewed September 25, 2004

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2004

2  Thank Ladygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2004

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed_langhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,555 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
461 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $84 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing