We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barclay Towers Resort Hotel is Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Barclay Towers Resort Hotel is Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Everything at our stay at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel was great. I liked that the rooms which are all oceanfront, they have fully equipped kitchens, comfortable beds, living area that can be closed off from bedroom and two televisions. The hotel is located on the boardwalk and has easy access to the beach. Pool, hot tub and gym area were nice and continental breakfast was very good. The staff was very friendly. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanieburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I'm glad you had an awesome stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    363
    138
    62
    55
See reviews for
471
276
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Barclay Towers from September 3rd to 11th, 2013. We live in Ontario, Canada, and this was our first time to Virginia Beach.We took advantage of the lowered prices in September plus the Canada Days special of 2 free nights if you pay for 6. We were very happy we chose the Barclay Towers. We found our suite to be very spacious, clean, and well equiped with everything. We were on the 7th floor at the far end of the hall ,away from the 2 elevators. It was nice and quiet.The view of the beach and ocean from our balcany was amazing.Our house keeper, Yvette, was also amazing. On arrival. I required more hangers than were in the large closet, and she got me more within 5 minutes. I also pointed out to her that the bedroom curtain was off the track on one side. 10 minutes later a service man was there and repaired it. Every day our garbage was emptied, the room was cleaned, we had new towels neatly folded on the shelves, and there was always an extra kleenex box and toilet paper roll in the bathroom. Our coffee and sugar/coffee mate was refilled every day without asking. The only day that the towels were not nicely folded and the coffee replaced was the one day that Yvette was off. There were 2 flat screen tvs- 1 in the livingroom and 1 in the bedroom. We liked that we could control the temperture of the airconditioner, which worked very well. On our 4th day there I could not open my safe. I reported it to the front desk and the "safe guy" was there in less than 5 minutes with his kit to open it for me.The indoor pool and sauna are quite nice and towels are provided there. I also used the laundry facilities located beside the elevator on our floor. Tide can be purchased from the front desk for 50 cents a box and washer and dryer each cost only $1.00/load.The staff in the morning breakfast room were very friendly and the breakfast room is large with plenty of seating, either inside or out under the awning. While we ate there every morning and had plenty to eat, I would like to see more variety from day to day. Every day is the same: hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereal choices, milk, bagels to toast, cream cheeses, jam and butter, danishes, muffins, apples, oranges, yougart, juice, coffee, tea. I would have liked to have seen some bread so that it wasn't only a bagel you could toast. This is a non-smoking facility. My husband is a smoker and appreciated that you can smoke outside under the awning during non-breakfast hours. As well, the board walk is right there outside the back door with loads of benches on which to sit to smoke. While not one of the newer hotels, price wise you get a lot for your money at the Barclay, and we will definitely return and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the ends of the hallway, away from the elevator, laundry room, and ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting such a thorough and wonderful review. We love our Canadian visitors here in Virginia Beach. We appreciate your business and your comments! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay during the third week of August. The hotel initially assigned us a room directly in front of the elevators but accommodated us when we requested a room change. Our suite was clean and spacious. We had a bedroom, bathroom and a full kitchen with range, refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. The kitchen was adequately equipped with pots & pans, utensils, dishes and cups. The living room had a pull out sofa bed. The balcony was a great perk and we spent a lot of time people watching. I only requested additional toilet paper and kitchen trash bags at the end of our stay. The room is quiet and couldn't hear the neighbor until the last night. The neighbor on our left decided to check out at 4 AM and banged their door constantly. I would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuy_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your business and your comments! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel is on the quieter & less crowded end of the beach. Only steps away from the beach. On-site parking is limited but garage across the street. City trolley bus stop in front of the building. Staff is friendly and attentive and want you to have a pleasant and satisfying stay. All rooms are on the ocean and have balconies. Balconies could use more cleaning. Rooms are clean and fresh; bedroom has TV and large closet, bed is very comfortable; bathroom is nice and clean; living room has sofa bed and TV/DVD player, dining area has table and 4 chairs,and kitchens are adequate to prepare all meals. Kitchens have full size refrigerator with ice maker, dishwasher, small 4 burner stove and oven, dishes, cutlery, pots and pans. The Barclay is an older building but is consistently upgrading furnishings, carpet, interior and exterior. All rooms are one bedroom suites, unlike newer facilities with multiple bedrooms. There are a variety of hotel chains in Virginia Beach and we have tried a few but we choose the Barclay over any other. It doesn't have a restaurant on site, but hotel is within walking distance or short trolley ride to several restaurants. Many restaurants deliver to your door.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and offer great views of the ocean and the boardwalk. Rooms are well insulate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cecelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay again at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We certainly appreciate our time share owners and exchangers. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Barclay Towers is located right on the boardwalk in Virginia Beach!! All of its rooms are suites that have a bedroom and another living room with a pull-out sofa bed, gas range, refrigerator, microwave, sink. All rooms are oceanfront which is a plus. The rooms were dated but overall clean. One negative is that housekeeping is poor. If you run out of coffee or any other shower amenities, you have to go down to the front desk to get it and that too it might not be in stock.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front so that's a definite plus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ujjwal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your business and your comments. I apologize for the oversights by my housekeeping staff. Whenever you return to Virginia Beach, I hope you will choose to stay at Barclay Towers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love it and we will be back, and this is the only hotel we liked so far! Great service, we were able to get the room last minute! Love the kitchen, enjoyed our stay in non smoking environment Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank innadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay again at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We certainly appreciate your business. I hope your first visit will not be your last and hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Rooms needed to be updated. Furniture and decore: needs updating. Reminded me of a bad 1980s hotel room. The Bathroom had black modly looking dirt in corners. Needed a good cleaning. No MP3 docking station. No outlets in bedroom to recharge phones or tablets. WiFi did not work entire weekend. Would not book again. Could have spend same amount for a better hotel room. Not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The number one goal of our hotel is to provide courteous and dependable service, with comfortable and clean accommodations. All at reasonable prices. Consequently, it is disappointing that you were not satisfied. Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Property: Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing