We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$190
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$214
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$219
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveler rating
412
435
169
78
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
412
435
169
78
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastacross the streetliving roomhot tubfull kitchennice place to staysmall balconyfront desk staffindoor pooloff seasonocean viewking bedfamily vacationboard walkthe room was nicebeach frontarchie
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. My husband and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary at Va Beach because we spent our honeymoon there.The Barclay was a good price, clean, and very friendly. We walked or rode bicycles (for 1-8 people) everywhere we went. The only con was that it got a little noisy with our room being right outside the elevators, of which they only have 2.

Room Tip: Do not get room near elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. We all take pride in providing a good family value and great friendly service to all our guests. We appreciate your business and your comments! HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! We hope to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the frist review I have ever given. This was the worse stay we have had at Va Beach. I will keep this as short as I can but would really appreciate it if someone could give me an email address to contact a manager for the full story. I could not find one anywhere on the website.

Our room was moved from original room for an earlier check in. It was directly across from the elevators. This was a bit noisy early in morning and late at night but really not a huge deal. We were given no blankets for sofabed. We tried with several attempts to get 1 extra blanket and finally did on our last night. My oldest daughter used a beach towel prior to that. We got this room to utilize the kitchen. We were given 2 saucepans. No frying pan but I made do, cooking pancakes in the large saucepan. I had to use a small silver cereal spoon as a spatula. I called 3 different times during stay for a spatula, I was finally told that spatulas were only given for timeshares but they would make find me one ( my third call on second day) . I was instead brought dishwashing tablets (there is not even a dishwasher in unit?). The frontdesk guy on Sunday night was rude and did not answer phone (even though phone says the number is for emergencies). My husband went down and waited approx. 5 minutes before the guy came in from beach access. I was told by this same guy that there was not one extra blanket in entire hotel.
My family and I felt like a burden and trying to get just normal requests should not have been such an ordeal. If the room was not equipped with normal cooking items, this should have been disclosed so I could have brought them. We always stay with kitchens or kitchenettes and have never had these issues. The room really put a damper on our vacation.
I understand this is a busy time of year but quite frankly this should not be my problem. Even if the hotel is busy I should still feel like a valued guest.

Room Tip: Bring all cooking items and any extra blankets you might need. A powerstrip for electronics is also a good idea. 8th floor would be ideal, but do not stay across from elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solemnly_CynCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The number one goal of our hotel is to provide courteous and dependable service, with comfortable and clean accommodations. All at reasonable prices. Consequently, it is disappointing that you were not satisfied. Please accept my apologies for the lack of kitchen items and the un-attentive desk staff member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

When we checked in the front desk person was named jen gave us an attitude and let us talk to Tracy Tracy was nice and fixed everything. Everything else was great also bring your fishing poles they are right next to the pier and its a good catch I will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishingdad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. We appreciate your business and your comments! Tracey is a wonderful asset to our management team. We can't wait to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for a week in mid-July 2013. The negatives: rooms are a little dated; would like to see a better breakfast, pool area average. The positives (which far out weigh the negatives): private balcony with an AWESOME view (all rooms); price can't be beat; within walking distance of everything; the staff is extremely courteous and pleasant to deal with. I booked our room well over two months in advance, and when I arrived, the booking was incorrect. Without having to get into an argument, they had me taken care of before I could blink...with a discount ta boot! Our room was clean (c'mon, people...quit complaining about the build up around bath tub caulk. It's not a brand new hotel!), and whenever we needed anything, it was at our door quickly. We would stay here again. :). Thanks to Tracy and her staff for making this an enjoyable vacation!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front! Not a bad room in the house.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. We all take pride in providing a good family value and great friendly service to all our guests. We appreciate your business and your comments! We hope to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I have stayed at Barclay one other time and have been very pleased both times. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff has always been helpful. Their rates also seem to be very reasonable considering you get a suite on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for being a repeat customer. We appreciate your business and your comments! We hope to see you on your next visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews