We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right On The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Foley, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Right On The Beach”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I had lived in Norfolk, Virginia from 1969-1971 while I was stationed in the Navy. We were in Virginia Beach many times enjoying the beach. So when the opportunity came up in May 2013 to revisit the area we were quite excited to be able to able to see some of our old stomping grounds. I made a reservation at the Barclay Towers Resort Hotel in Virginia Beach to be our home base for the visit. The price was VERY reasonable for a place right on the beach. When we checked in, my request for a room on the top floor (8th) was granted. We rode the elevator up and entered the room. Wow! A king-size suite with an outside patio facing the ocean. Perfect. The room was large and very clean, the king-size bed was super comfortable, and our stay was very enjoyable. There were two rooms...the bedroom, with a flat screen TV and the living area with a TV, microwave and refrigerator. It also had a queen-size sofa bed that we did not need, but was comfortable to sit on. Room service was exceptional. Access to the beach was easy. Restaurants were everywhere. Parking was limited at the hotel, but tons of additional parking was available right across the street. No problem. The pool and hot tub were spotless. My only complaint was that the continental breakfast was quite sparse. Overall, our stay was perfect and the the hotel was exceptional. Thanks Barclay Towers.

Room Tip: No tips. All rooms face the ocean and have a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USNavyVet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
You are very welcome! Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for posting your review. I hope you get a chance to come back to the Beach and Barclay Towers soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    386
    146
    70
    58
See reviews for
514
291
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Other than our room being right beside the elevator, a bit loud from time to time but not often, Barclay Towers has a very nice facility for the family. Nice for Mom and Dad to have a seperate room with a TV and quite time. Kids did great out in the living area with a TV and next to the Frig. and snacks in the kitchen area. A nice little touch was the breakfast of bagels, donuts, cereal and yogart offered each morning downstairs. Will return to this location in the future! Clean and comfortable.
Winchester, VA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mercedes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments! We look forward to many return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was a little concerned upon walking in because it's obvious this is an older structure with small lobby and reception desk. However, the room was good size and comfortable. Bed was comfortable, towels were high quality, living room had good space, and everything seemed clean. The view of the beach was great and the balcony, while a little small, was great in the afternoon because of its eastern exposure...enjoyed the shade, nice breeze, and view of the beach.

I expected housekeeping to make the bed and clean the bathroom the one day we were there but they did not for some reason. The neighbors were a little noisy and a bag of recycling was left outside our door for a night and a day.

Investment in modernizing the public areas (lobby, pool, breakfast room and patio) and maybe some new pieces of furniture in the rooms would go a long way toward making this a great place to stay. That may not be feasible at the current room rates.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach which is good. We were on the 7th of 8 floors and I think higher up is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm glad you had a clean and comfortable stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. I apologize about no housekeeping service, not sure why this happened to you. We appreciate your comments and your suggested improvements! We look forward to many return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Beautiful resort. would be nice if bedroom was facing the beach instead of the living room. Could not use swimming pool or hot-tub because it was full of kids and most without adult supervision. Maid service was horrible, they made up the bed but never changed the linens for the three days we were there and didn't even vacuum or clean the tub area. The unit also needed repairs and upgrading. Definitely not worth the $150 per night stay. On the back of the door the prices were $299 per night and that would have been even worse. Unsupervised kids running up and down the halls making noise and no hotel or adult supervision.

Room Tip: All rooms were suites and facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We value your comments, as they help us to improve or correct our services. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The number one goal of our hotel is to provide courteous and dependable service, with comfortable and clean accommodations to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Consequently, it's disappointing that you're unhappy. Please accept my apologies for the lack of housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Unlike the previous visits we had some problems that were not corrected.
In room #510 occupied by R. Peralta the balcony door had to opened by the maintenance attendant but once it was closed it would not open again and she could not use here balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raymond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
It was good to have you back again at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. I apologize about the difficulty you had with the balcony door. I can assure you that I have had the Chief Engineer correct the problem now. We appreciate your comments and suggestions! We look forward to many return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Location is great & not where the loud bands play right outside your room. Staff for the room and front desk were very friendly and helpful. If we needed anything, they responded in a timely manner. Parking is limited right outside the entrance, but they provide free parking on the ground floor of the parking garage directly across the street out of the weather. Breakfast is adequate & good and you can sit at a table outside under an awning on the boardwalk. This is not a 5 star resort, so don't expect perfection. It was, however, perfect for us! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments! We look forward to many return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great place to stay! We have stayed at the Barclay many times over the past twenty years! The new "facelift" was needed and looks fabulous! The staff was extremely helpful and professional.
We were able to check-in early and we really appreciated this as it was a soccer tournament weekend. A bigger buffet breakfast or even putting in a restaurant would be great! Both our room and my brother's room was not cleaned the day following check-in, and the front desk reported we had the "privacy" sign on during housekeeping time. This was not true for either room. We really didn't care, except we needed more towels and had to wait a while for them. We emptied our own trash, as that was no big deal for us. Overall, a great time was had by all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It was good to have you back again at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry about the housekeeping mixup. We appreciate your comments and suggestions! We look forward to many return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Property: Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing