We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value, friendly. We'll definitely be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Location is great & not where the loud bands play right outside your room. Staff for the room and front desk were very friendly and helpful. If we needed anything, they responded in a timely manner. Parking is limited right outside the entrance, but they provide free parking on the ground floor of the parking garage directly across the street out of the weather. Breakfast is adequate & good and you can sit at a table outside under an awning on the boardwalk. This is not a 5 star resort, so don't expect perfection. It was, however, perfect for us! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments! We look forward to many return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great place to stay! We have stayed at the Barclay many times over the past twenty years! The new "facelift" was needed and looks fabulous! The staff was extremely helpful and professional.
We were able to check-in early and we really appreciated this as it was a soccer tournament weekend. A bigger buffet breakfast or even putting in a restaurant would be great! Both our room and my brother's room was not cleaned the day following check-in, and the front desk reported we had the "privacy" sign on during housekeeping time. This was not true for either room. We really didn't care, except we needed more towels and had to wait a while for them. We emptied our own trash, as that was no big deal for us. Overall, a great time was had by all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sherrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

It was good to have you back again at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry about the housekeeping mixup. We appreciate your comments and suggestions! We look forward to many return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Barclay Towers, Virginia Beach. We made great family memories with our kids and grandkids. Everyone at the hotel was professional and courteous and the rooms had everything we needed and room to stretch out in. The kids were thrilled with the chance to see dolphins from their balcony. The beach was so easy to get to, they were always ready to go. This was their first visit, but they want to return. My husband and I have been coming here for 18 years.

Room Tip: All two-room suites with kitchens. Great for families. Late September is perfect for older guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Janell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I'm glad you had a wonderful stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and professional service to our guests. I too love to see the dolphins swimming by the hotel! We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to many more return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Barclay Towers is located in a perfect quiet location on the strip of Virginia Beach. All rooms have a balcony and beach front view. The set up of the room is not ideal, but is OK for a small family. This is second time we have stayed in Virginia Beach, and this RCI hotel was much better than our previous location. There may be better opportunities for places to stay while in Virginia Beach, but I felt that Barclay Towers was nice for our needs......Biggest concern as mentioned above was the layout of the room. You enter the room by entering right into the bedroom, then into the living area w/kitchen. If they could put a wall dividing the bedroom/walkway to the living area would be a nice update.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front/view w/balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveN131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments and suggestions! We look forward to many return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We've wanted to stay at this hotel since we first visited friends registered there back in 1994. At that time, we were impressed with the space, cleanliness, and brightness of the suite. This past week, we finally had the opportunity to stay at the Barclay for the first time (it's always been booked solid when we've tried to get reservations in past years) and it was all I remembered--and more. Still clean, and bright; an exceptionally spacious bathroom (obviously newly renovated); excellent housekeeping; friendly and accommodating front desk personnel; clean indoor pool and hot tub; fitness room with well maintained equipment; and best of all, a very comfortable king-sized bed! Was the hotel brand new? Nope. Was there only one elevator working while the others were being upgraded? Yup. Did either of those situations bother us? Not really. Why? Because the things we look for in a hotel/motel stay were a constant; it was clean, the people were always pleasant and helpful, and whenever we made a request for something (extra coffee packets, extra towels, clean the picture window), our request was fulfilled in a very timely fashion by a a staff member with a smile on his/her face. As far as we're concerned, this was a top notch hotel staffed by top notch personnel--and we WILL stay there next year, even if we have to book our vacation 10 months in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for the high praise! We have assembled a remarkable staff here, each and every one of whom truly loves to welcome back our guests every year. The smiles you encounter are genuine! We are very happy you intend to return next year.Thanks again for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great value and great place. Loved that it was right on the beach. The indoor pool was nice. Clean. The hotel itself seemed dated but the finishes had been updated in the last couple years. One elevator was down, but there were signs that they were doing renovations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. I apologize about the elevator situation. We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to many more return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Way better other hotels on the ocean front to stay at for the money. I stayed over Mother's Day weekend for a 6 night stay. Nice staff, but over worked from trying to apologize for all the things wrong at this place. Only one elevator working, TV's in rooms not working, really bad continental breakfast, very uncomfortable bed, and the parking is unsecured and a cross the street.They tried to cover this old hotel up with new renovations. They did not work. Rust every where and mold in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The number one goal of our hotel is to provide courteous and dependable service, with comfortable and clean accommodations to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Consequently, it's disappointing that you're unhappy. Please accept my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,549 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
458 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $86 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing