We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Suite and Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We've wanted to stay at this hotel since we first visited friends registered there back in 1994. At that time, we were impressed with the space, cleanliness, and brightness of the suite. This past week, we finally had the opportunity to stay at the Barclay for the first time (it's always been booked solid when we've tried to get reservations in past years) and it was all I remembered--and more. Still clean, and bright; an exceptionally spacious bathroom (obviously newly renovated); excellent housekeeping; friendly and accommodating front desk personnel; clean indoor pool and hot tub; fitness room with well maintained equipment; and best of all, a very comfortable king-sized bed! Was the hotel brand new? Nope. Was there only one elevator working while the others were being upgraded? Yup. Did either of those situations bother us? Not really. Why? Because the things we look for in a hotel/motel stay were a constant; it was clean, the people were always pleasant and helpful, and whenever we made a request for something (extra coffee packets, extra towels, clean the picture window), our request was fulfilled in a very timely fashion by a a staff member with a smile on his/her face. As far as we're concerned, this was a top notch hotel staffed by top notch personnel--and we WILL stay there next year, even if we have to book our vacation 10 months in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for the high praise! We have assembled a remarkable staff here, each and every one of whom truly loves to welcome back our guests every year. The smiles you encounter are genuine! We are very happy you intend to return next year.Thanks again for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great value and great place. Loved that it was right on the beach. The indoor pool was nice. Clean. The hotel itself seemed dated but the finishes had been updated in the last couple years. One elevator was down, but there were signs that they were doing renovations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. I apologize about the elevator situation. We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to many more return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Way better other hotels on the ocean front to stay at for the money. I stayed over Mother's Day weekend for a 6 night stay. Nice staff, but over worked from trying to apologize for all the things wrong at this place. Only one elevator working, TV's in rooms not working, really bad continental breakfast, very uncomfortable bed, and the parking is unsecured and a cross the street.They tried to cover this old hotel up with new renovations. They did not work. Rust every where and mold in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The number one goal of our hotel is to provide courteous and dependable service, with comfortable and clean accommodations to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Consequently, it's disappointing that you're unhappy. Please accept my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was my home away from home for the last 6 months! And every person there treated me as part of their family, I would get home from work, the front desk would say "YOUR HOME"
Each morning I got my morning pears from my pal Archie in the breakfast area! With always a big smile! Security, housekeeping ( Christine ) all the maintenance people... Just everyone!
Great bunch of people!! My room was always clean, coffee refilled, bed made up! Clean facilities throughout the hotel! Pool area nice and clean, water great!
Not to mention right on the beach and looking out the window each day seeing the tides!!
SWEET! And a BIG thank you to David the manager for everything, and for having a great team!
Thanks to all of you! Sandie

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandie_turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We enjoyed having you here with us. I hope you have an opportunity to come back. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've been to the Barclay two times before, so obviously we are happy with the hotel. It is so nice to be at a hotel with a kitchenette so it you get tired of eating out you can at least make a quick meal or a sandwich. Everyone we had contact with was helpful and friendly. Bee gave us excellent maid service and was especially helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and the view is phenomenal. The "young man" who runs the continental breakfast (which is quite nice) has been there for years and is very friendly. We had no problem with parking and always got a space right in front of the hotel, but I can imagine it might be a problem in the in-season. But in all honesty, there is ample parking across the street, so I did not mean that you would have to park in the street. All in all we had a great vacation at the Barclay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jmaratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay (again) at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to many more return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

just left the barclay towers this morning , the overall stay was pretty good. the big eye on the stove didnt work which made boiling a big pot of water a major fail.the balcony could be bigger, the front desk wasnt the friendliest but the maintenance men were very nice.the hotel is located in a nice location,the parking lot in front of the hotel fills up quick so you may have to park across the street ,long elevator wait due to broken elevator that i think has been down a while because when i read the reviews before coming some one mentioned it. despite the things i complain about i could stay there again because it was clean for the most part and now i know what to expect. oh,it could have been about 40 dollars cheaper and the continental breakfast sucked

Room Tip: the big eye on the stove in room 822 does not work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeithal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments and your business! I apologize for the big burner on the stove not working. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our stay at Barclay Towers. This was our first visit with this hotel and we were extremely impressed! From reading other reviews we were a little apprehensive at first but once we checked in our worries were put to ease. The overall hotel including the room was very clean and quiet. The room itself was immaculate and we loved the idea of having the separate bedroom and a living room with kitchenette. It was supplied with plenty of dishware, glassware, pots, pans, utensils, etc. My wife liked that their toiletries were Bath and Body works! The bed was comfy and it had plenty of extra pillows and blankets if we needed them. In the morning we tried their complimentary breakfast which consisted of bagels, pastries, cereals, yogurts, and fruits. We liked their hot tub (which is much bigger than most in Va beach) and heated pool as well. My wife and I usually go down to Va Beach once a month and would usually stay at a big name hotel located very close to this one but after staying here I don't think we will stay anywhere else again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor and at the far right end. I would not recommend one near a elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trakcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing a good value and friendly service to our guests. We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to many more return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $96 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing