We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“April 18-21” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
“April 18-21”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and beds comfortable. However the bedrooms in the suites are by the main entrance which means you get all the hallway noise and party chatter in the middle of the night. The place is old and showing its age, they need a real upgrade or will fall to a "has been" status. The breakfast is useless in a room that can't hold a full house of guests. Breakfast was nothing more than cereal and cheap donuts and pastries that you can buy at SAMS. A decent buy but for a couple of bucks more you can do a lot better up and down the beach.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank redwine1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments, suggestions and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    343
    128
    58
    55
See reviews for
441
249
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a relaxing get away. The suties are large, clean and the view from the balcony is wonderful. The indoor hot tub is clean and the indoor pool is warm and relaxing. Unfortunately the bedroom area of the suite is located on the hallway. Anyone coming or going down the hall can be heard clearly. Our original room was across from the elevator. We asked to be moved and the front desk was very accomodating. We were moved to a lovely room at the end of the hall. On Saturday there was a large wedding reception downstairs and the ladies in the room next to us attended. The screaming and laughing lasted until 3:30am even tho we called the front desk and they sent the guard up at 2:30. Based on the profanity used, the guard did not have much luck with the other guests. We were told "sorry we had a lot of wedding stuff going on this weekend" when we checked out. We would not stay here again or recommend this set-up to anyone else.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing good value to our guests. We appreciate your comments and your business! I apologize for the noisy neighbors you had to experience. This is not a common situation here. Virginia Beach is such a great vacation destination! Whenever you return to Virginia Beach, I hope you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I stayed here over spring break and had a great experience. The room was clean, the staff was friendly & helpful, and the location was convenient. My kids really enjoyed the pool. I would definately recommend this hotel and plan on going back in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lioness81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to seeing you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am an owner and sometimes stay at Barclay during times other than my fixed week. I stayed Sun-Sat prior to Easter. It was terrific. I love the upgrade to the elevator, just make sure you get in quickly since the door closes a little fast. The housekeeping staff was quiet when cleaning the rooms. The desk and maintenance staff was very professional and friendly. Can't wait to go back to VA Beach!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Terry2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your week at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you, as an owner of Barclay. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in April in a cooler time that we had hoped was warmer so we found ourselves using the heat. IT WAS SOOOO LOUD that it was hard to sleep or hear if you were trying to talk while it was running. Our room view was wonderful, our balcony door would not fully close and while we were there it was fairly cold, we had to put couch cushions against it to block the air because my kids were cold. The breakfast is the same every day, some variety would be nice..one elevator was broken the whole 4 days we were there so there was a lot of waiting to to up and down to the room. I wish there were a few empty outlets for a phone charger or anything in the rooms. Coffee in the lobby would be GREAT! Most of the staff were great, I found the breakfast attendant not so friendly. The pool room was so thick with air it is hard to breath and for some reason people allowed their child with ringworm to swim which made my children leave the pool area so we did not get to enjoy the pool very much.
Being a "resort" hotel I guess I expected it to be a bit nicer and higher class than the normal hotel, but it was not bad and it is affordable for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AVERY_TAMMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'm glad you (over all) enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing good value to our guests. We appreciate your comments and your business! Whenever you return to Virginia Beach, I hope you will choose to stay at Barclay Towers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson MS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

All of the great one bedroom condos...complete with a kitchen...are oceanfront with either a balcony or patio right on the ocean....they even offer a free extensive continental breakfast with an oceanfront view.....the jacuzzi is also oceanfront and the indoor pool is heated and delightful...This is a real treasure in Virginia Beach!!!!

Room Tip: The higher floors have less noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We take great pride in providing good value to our guests. We appreciate your comments and your business! We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute getaway to VA. Beach for Easter. The Barclay Towers appeared to have everything we were looking for...oceanfront, complimentary breakfast, indoor pool, microwave and frig. The hotel is undergoing renovations, so there is a strong smell of paint, only one working elevator, etc. The room we had must have been hastily painted; there were paint chips & dust everywhere. But you couldn't argue with the view. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, but you can cook in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasboundgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. I apologize for the inconveniences you incurred due to our renovations. We do appreciate your comments and your business! Virginia Beach is such a great vacation destination! I hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#21 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Property: Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing