We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

On a motorcycle trip and this trip being in between a wedding anniversary and a birthday, we chose to step it up and pay a little more to stay at a nice resort. Having wanted to stay here since the place was built I was looking forward to it. Check in was easy and Danielle was wonderful. Our room was upgraded from ocean view to ocean front without a rate increase. Upon entering the room, the space was very nice, definitely not crammed in this room. I was disappointed in the quality of the hotel however. The laminate counter tops and pressed board painted cabinets was not the quality I expected from a high end resort. I feel the price for night is excessive for the quality of the hotel. I will concede that it was clean and the location was perfect. My conclusion - high dollar, not high quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWLJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear RWLJN,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how our hotel and team members helped make your trip a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views!
Additionally, we will be doing a complete kitchen and bathroom remodel in 2015 to include floor tile, cabinets, countertops, and appliances as well as bathroom floor tile and vanity and cabinets . Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    96
    36
    30
    43
See reviews for
105
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

First off our flight was cancelled so we jumped on the train from nyc... got to the hotel around 2am. and was greeted by Dee. she was amazing. so polite and courteous. she gave us a menu to a local restaurant to order delivery. we had a 2 bedroom suite with an ocean view. it was great. anytime we needed anything it was there in a very timely fashion. we even got an extended 4pm check out for a very, very, very fair price last minute. if i ever go back to Virginia Beach i will be staying here at Boardwalk again.........

Room Tip: i always like being on the top floors. but the best here is 3 or 4 because that's where the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear George P:
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how our hotel and team members helped make your trip a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with Dee to show her how appreciated she is. We are happy to have such a great resort in the middle of all the "action" for our guests to enjoy!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My biggest priority is the cleanliness of my surroundings. The Boardwalk was perfect! In addition to being extremely clean, the shower was amazing (I wish I could take it home!) The towels were of high quality. The room (suite) had everything anyone would need. The entire property is very well maintained. This is a very relaxing and accommodating hotel that I would love to return to!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Jill D:

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our Resort! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in! I have shared with our staff that you were very happy with their service and they were delighted. We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I had reservations at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas from April 19-26. This was a two bedroom interval exchange. It exchanged for a studio. This in normally not a problem since it was just the two of us. The room is very, very small. It is smaller than a two or three star hotel. This is very disappointing. I have exchanged with interval since 1999. It would be helpful if the guest are informed that the studio accommodations are smaller that the normal studio accommodations. We could only hang four hangers on the so-called wardrobe rack. The staff and the service was great! The fitness is excellent. We were offered an upgrade it was not available until Wednesday. We were checking out on Thursday. We would not stay in this hotel again. It is maintained but old and outdated. We did not see the one or two bedroom. We are finding that it is easier to stay at a Marriott hotel, we always know the quality is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seetheworld1NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We are happy to see that you felt our staff and service was great. I agree our studios are our smallest units, however, they all have kitchenettes and about the average size of a standard hotel room. Unfortunately, we are not always able to offer upgrades due to limited availablity. We would love to have you back with us and try our oceanfront suites with a full kitchen the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay because it was right on the boardwalk! Our 1-bedroom, 2nd floor, ocean front unit was very nicely laid out. It could use a little updating, but it had everything that we needed. We had a full kitchen, with a microwave and dish washer. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Keep an eye on the 2 air conditioning units because ours leaked onto the floor. But, when we called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMEReh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! By the way, we are doing a full kitchen and bathroom renovation in 2015, and we have just done the living rooms and bedrooms last year! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our Oceanside 2 bedroom villas was beautiful. The unit was clean, and there was room for 2 adults and 3 active teens. I did, however, need to comment on the quality of the kitchen & the linens. The kitchen has service for 5, but the cookware was minimal and of poor quality. I had to put the only skillet (9 in) on the 1 cookie sheet because the handle was flimsy and I was afraid it would break. There were no measuring spoons, just a 2 c glass measuring cup. In addition, there were no mixing spoons. Typically when we stay in villas (our preferred way to vacation) we have a much better appointed kitchen- making it easy to prepare cocktails, snacks or even the occasional dinner. I actually went our and bought a couple of things to make the kitchen more serviceable for us. Also, I had to request more pillows and blankets as the pillows were flat out of terrible quality or just really old because everyone was both lumpy and flat. All that being said, the resort was well maintained, clean and with plenty of room. Each room had a flat screen and regular DVD (not Blu-ray). I would come again, but just make sure that I had brought any kitchen utensils that I felt I needed.

Room Tip: villa 307A is a 3 bedroom with lock out. We had the side with the full ocean front view and 2 bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to have such a great resort in the middle of all the "action" for our guests to enjoy!
We do have heavy stainless steel cooking equipment in the units, so feel free to contact us to tighten up the handle if you feel it’s loose. The pans are very sturdy, but the screw in the handle can become loose. Additionally, we are sorry you had lumpy pillows; we certainly do our best to maintain and replace pillows as needed. Again our staff is here around the clock to serve you and we would be happy to address any issue you may have during your stay.
Your suite should have had a DVD player in living room and a Blu Ray player in bedroom, we just installed them last year (2013). We have one of each in every suite.
We are doing a full kitchen and bathroom renovation next year (2015) so be sure to come and check us out again!
Thank you again so much for taking the time to review our property!
-Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerstown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel from Mar. 21-24, 2014. We had a one bedroom suite on the side of the building. The room and hotel were both very nice. Everything was clean and had a fresh smell. All our linens were clean and we had plenty of towels and washcloths. Housekeeping came every day and made our bed and replenished our towels. During our stay we received two different calls to make sure everything was okay with our room and to see if we needed anything. The hotel staff was very nice and knowledgeable of the VA Beach area when we had questions.

We were in town for the Cheer and Dance Extreme Cheerleading Competition at the VA Beach Convention Center. Our eight year old Daughter enjoyed the indoor pool and being very close to a Dairy Queen.

We also visited the VA Beach Aquarium and Science Center, which is located a few miles up the road.

Our stay at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel was wonderful and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Tigger1031,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so happy that we could exceed your expectations! Our service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! (And of course being right next to Dairy Queen is a plus as well!) We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Property: Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing