We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times -- Fond Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia Beach, VA
16
Reviewed March 22, 2004

In October, 2001, for our 10th wedding anniversary, my husband and I originally booked a room for one night but stayed for two because we enjoyed it so much! There were a few minor problems, but nothing serious. Check-in was OK. Could have been more friendly and welcoming.
The room was very spacious, with a full kitchen, jacuzzi tub, living room, and ocean view. The bathroom had nice shampoos and lotions, including a magnified mirror that extended out on an arm from the wall.
The bathroom counter had drawers, which the women will love. The jacuzzi tub was quite relaxing and was very nice to start the day with.
However, we found hair on the walls of the tub during our first shower, which was nauseating. We called in the complaint and were compensated with a shower wash and coupons to use in their restaurant. I think the coupon was for 2 free dinners up to $30. The restaurant has very good food by the way and good service as well. It is quite loud if crowded though. Not much room to move around in. However, when we were given the coupons, they failed to let us know when the restaurant closed for the evening--which was earlier than normal since it was off season. So we had to go out somewhere else to find dinner, which we were unprepared for and most everything was closed by then. That was inconvenient and upsetting for us. We returned about a month later to the restuarant to use the coupons--and had a nice dinner. The kitchen in the room was stocked with nice dishes, a modern coffeemaker, good coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, silverware, and a dishwasher. I wasn't impressed with the picnic table style dining table with a bench seat and three chairs. It looked like a fish out of water, while everything else looked more upscale. The room could use some pretty decorative flowers and a nicer tablecloth. One light on the wall had a purple shade on it looking stylish and modern. The exercise room was a bit small and not as secluded as I would like it to be with windows for walls next to a main hallway, but the workout was good. The hot tub in the pool area was nice, but the indoor pool water was so cold that I could not use it. That was a downer because I was looking forward to taking a few laps in the pool. They supply plenty of towels, and room service was great. They were quick and prompt to clean the rooms and make the bed and answer our requests. I'd go back again and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying at the oceanfront in Va. Beach.
Va. Beach is my birth place and I am still a local. I checked out the hotels pretty thoroughly prior to selecting The Boardwalk Resort, and this one is definitely at the top. My advice for anyone staying there is this: Make your booking online, you'll get better rates--we did!
They do take AAA. Find out at check-in what hours the restaurant is open and when it closes. Don't rely on the hours on the door of the restaurant, but definitely eat there. Be prepared for a phonecall asking you to attend a meeting and tour. They sell timeshare. Overall, I'm glad we chose The Boardwalk Resort. I think you'd like it!

  • Stayed: October 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2004

From the kind welcome from the hotel staff to the beautiful room to the big pool/hot tub to the perfect central VA Beach location, THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY! The room was furnished in a 4-star hotel style, and has a full kitchen completely furnished. There's a big table to eat at as well. The only drawback is that it states that the room can accomodate up to 6. The queen bed is very comfortable, but the other people must sleep on sofa beds, which are not nearly as comfortable for adults.
Overall, you will love this hotel!!

Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2004

I have stayed in hotels up and down the east coast but this one tops the cake. The rooms were awesome with balconies overlooking the ocean, full size kitchens and a great restaurant. I found the customer service to be wonderful, the staff always saying hello and even getting to know our names by the time we left. It's location was another plus, we could walk to everything we wanted to do most of the time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in a higher level of service and quality.

1  Thank Deniseny74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia Beach, VA
1
Reviewed January 24, 2004

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
14
Reviewed December 17, 2003

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newington, CT
15
Reviewed December 14, 2003

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
12
Reviewed November 15, 2003

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 109 in Virginia Beach
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $76 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing