We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION...CLEAN...GREAT SERVICE”
Review of Capes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT LOCATION...CLEAN...GREAT SERVICE”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wife n I stayed here the last 2 yrs...can't ask for anything better for the price..right in center of boardwalk..clean..people who work there r very nice. All rooms r oceanfront the prices drop really low after labor day which make it affordable to a family on a budget

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEAN5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    117
    38
    18
    18
See reviews for
157
116
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The entire staff was informative, helpful and gracious. The room was clean and roomy enough for 3 ladies and all the stuff we must have! We had great weather, so we never had the opportunity to utilize the pool, but it looked inviting. The restaurant on site was a nice touch for dining surfside---food was good and the owners were a hoot. We plan to visit again next year.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and it was a great view and high enough up that you didn't hear all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I will not go so far as to say this is a bad hotel I just think that for the prices they charge you could take your money and get a lot nicer just one street back and in some cases even oceanfront. When we checked in it took 15 minutes for the guy at the front desk to stop talking to his friend on the phone and acknowledge us. Even then he did not help us, what I am assuming was the manager helped us. We were promised a top floor room (8th or 9th floor I can't remember now) and when we checked in they had us on like the 4th or 5th floor when we told them we had requested and been assured we could be on the top floor (our daughter loves being on the high floors) the person who booked us had said that was no problem and even given us the floor and room number we would have. That room was no longer available. The room was outdated and moderately clean. The kitchenette had no utensils or dishes. The mini fridge had the knob broken of it to keep people from changing the temp (yes that was purposeful and not a fluke). All our food was frozen solid the first night we stayed. When we called the same manager guy came up and used pliers to adjust the temp and then of course it was too warm but we did not feel like complaining again. The pool is so tiny it is cramped when 6 people are in it (3 of the 6 were kids!). You feel like you can't move around because you don't want to splash people who don't want to be and it was also very cold. The maid service left a lot to be desired they did not really clean in between check in and check out more like went in a put out clean towels and kind of made the bed. My daughter accidentally scratched her arm and got a little blood spot on the bed so I immediately put water on it and when we left that morning I made sure the maid would be able to see the spot, they just came in and made the bed back up anyway. Did not even give her clean sheets. Parking is HORRIBLE!!! The hotel was noisy and really not as clean as I would have liked. But I do have some positives. If you just HAVE to have a oceanfront hotel the location is very good and the balconies are very nice. They also have a porch area that you can go and sit on that has chairs and umbrellas to sit with. I really did not feel that we got our monies worth on this place. I am not saying I would never stay here again it just would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony try to stay high up if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmcapes, Manager at Capes Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Jessica, thank you for your feedback. To say that I am disappointed would be an understatement. After reading several comments about how great our staff is, it's disheartening to read your comments. The Capes strives to be a clean, comfortable, friendly, and functional hotel with affordable prices and a spectacular oceanfront view. All rooms offer a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for your convenience. I have shared your comments with both our housekeeping and front desk teams so they can be more accommodating in completing their duties. Next time, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk with any issues, if we are unaware we cannot address them. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

the hotel was very accomadating,they allowed us to check in early. The rooms were clean and the accomadations were comfortable. the only thing we did not like, were the homeless people hanging around the hotel asking for money. I spoke to the desk clerk about this problem. I was told they were harmless. In the evening they were frightening! I think the hotel should be more pro active about not allowing this people to panhandle for moey outside their business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We choose The Capes after reading and comparing Trip Advisor review and we were very pleased with our choice. We stayed from Sept 3rd to the 10th. Very nice hotel, great location, great view, but the most importan, it is very very clean. The kitchen area was suffisant for us.We brought our coffee, filters, cups, toaster, plates and ustensils and we had breakfast and light lunchs on the balcony. The housekeeping lady made a good job, we never missed anything. From now, when we will return to VA beach, it will be at The Capes only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just completed the nicest 3 night stay at the Capes Hotel. Our 1st visit to the VB resort area and we are so glad we happened upon the Capes Hotel to experience this. The rooms were very clean, staff always polite and ready to help with EVERYTHING we called on them for; directions, local information, additional trash bags... whatever. We parked our car and rode our bikes or walked everywhere we wanted to go. The Hotel was cool, quiet and conveniently located in the center of the resort area. We ate breakfast at the sea side cafe located at the Hotel and thouroghly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thank you !!
Dude and Lisa, Logan, OH

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatescapecabins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a great experience at Capes. Stayed from Aug 26-28. Family of 5, we selected the 2 room suite with ocean view. The view was outstanding. We stayed for 2 nights and could not have selected a better place. The hotel is old but well maintained. Staff is very friendly. The hotel does not offer any fancy service and provides a basic, clean beach stay. We did not try the cafe but the hotel directed us to an outstanding sea food place for dinner - Tautogs - just a block and a half away. Everything is near to the hotel so the location is perfect. The suite had a nice kitchenette but did not have any supplies - so bring your own.
Overall a great place to stay for a very reasonable rate - we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capes Hotel

Property: Capes Hotel
Address: 2001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capes has 59 spacious, comfortable, affordable rooms, eight stories, an oceanfront cafe, refreshing indoor pool all to be enjoyed, right here on the ocean. All rooms are non-smoking offering refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The Capes offers accommodations to fit your needs, with our one room unit that includes two full size beds; or our two room unit with three full size beds and 2 tvs offering your family just the right space for a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Capes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capes Hotel Virginia Beach
Capes Virginia Beach
Capes Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing