We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from the balcony!”
Review of Capes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capes Hotel
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a great vacation at this older Virginia Beach hotel which has ocean views from every balcony. It was great to see and hear the ocean every moment of the day. The staff was especially great....so friendly and ready to direct us to where we wanted to go. There is a nice little cafe right off the indoor pool called The Hidden Pearl" where we had a very nice breakfast, which is served all day! Take your own coffee as there is a coffee maker, but they do not supply the coffee service. Every other need was met and it was clean and neat. We were very satisfied with our stay here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jlizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 402 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Capes twice now and have been pleased both times. The location is very close to alot of the night life. We chose the queen deluxe whirlpool room. We love to sit the the whirpool and see out the balcony window. The bathroom is very small but clean. We were not crazy about the sheets this visit, seemed a little worn. The kitchenette is very spacious with lots of cabinet space and a large fridge compared to most hotels. It is not a fancy place but just what you need at the beach and cant beat the prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very clean well maintained hotel great staff. Only bad things it has a very small pool indoors no breakfast included small bathroom but great for beach people also great ocean front view and right in boardwalk no better location we also seen fireworks right in front of our room over the water I will stay again very satisfied

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my86jeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Capes is an affordable hotel with great location on the boardwalk-make sure you check the website for the value weeks for an even better deal! The hotel was clean and the mini kitchen area with micro/fridge was great. Staff was friendly,although housekeeping wasn't always thorough- you had to ask specifically for towels, plastic cups, etc- nothing was replenished unless requested. The cafe onsite was nice for breakfast, but our favorite breakfast spot was definitely Catch 31 at the hilton on 31st street- this is a beautiful restaurant with great breakfast at a decent price( much more affordable than dinner at this restaurant, but you can still enjoy the ambiance). Another pointer- on days with rough water, head to first landing state park to swim in the calm bay water- especially for little kids!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank NJNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights. The oceanfront room was comfortable and clean. The view is perfect and the balcony is a decent size. I love the counter space with the sink the bathroom is very small (but that's not where you spend the majority of the time). The towels are paper thin so you might want to bring your own and they do provide you with small soaps and a shampoo. There is a fridge and a microwave with plenty of cabinet space and an additional sink, there is also a full size coffeemaker but NO coffee,sugar,creamers etc. etc. For me that was a slight dissapointment. The elevator is super slow but we didn't mind taking the stairs (without our luggages of course), overall is a great hotel but by no means is a "resort".

Room Tip: I think the 5th and 6th floor are the best heights for that "perfect" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Capes hotel is a great place for the price. My family and I have stayed at the Capes for the past 4 years. The Capes is centrally located within all the action of VA Beach. The Capes could use a few upgrades, for instance, the fridges do not get very cold, and the AC takes a while to cool down on those HOT beach days. The staff is very friendly and

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have stayed at The Capes for years and have never considered staying anywhere else. Rooms is clean, staff is friendly and location is perfect. Wi-fi in the rooms now makes it even better now and love the cafe on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginadawn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
732 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capes Hotel

Address: 2001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $797 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capes has 59 spacious, comfortable, affordable rooms, eight stories, an oceanfront cafe, refreshing indoor pool all to be enjoyed, right here on the ocean. All rooms are non-smoking offering refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The Capes offers accommodations to fit your needs, with our one room unit that includes two full size beds; or our two room unit with three full size beds and 2 tvs offering your family just the right space for a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capes Hotel Virginia Beach
Capes Virginia Beach
Capes Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing