We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location”
Review of Capes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great hotel great location”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very clean well maintained hotel great staff. Only bad things it has a very small pool indoors no breakfast included small bathroom but great for beach people also great ocean front view and right in boardwalk no better location we also seen fireworks right in front of our room over the water I will stay again very satisfied

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my86jeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    117
    38
    19
    18
See reviews for
158
118
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Capes is an affordable hotel with great location on the boardwalk-make sure you check the website for the value weeks for an even better deal! The hotel was clean and the mini kitchen area with micro/fridge was great. Staff was friendly,although housekeeping wasn't always thorough- you had to ask specifically for towels, plastic cups, etc- nothing was replenished unless requested. The cafe onsite was nice for breakfast, but our favorite breakfast spot was definitely Catch 31 at the hilton on 31st street- this is a beautiful restaurant with great breakfast at a decent price( much more affordable than dinner at this restaurant, but you can still enjoy the ambiance). Another pointer- on days with rough water, head to first landing state park to swim in the calm bay water- especially for little kids!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NJNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for a couple of nights. The oceanfront room was comfortable and clean. The view is perfect and the balcony is a decent size. I love the counter space with the sink the bathroom is very small (but that's not where you spend the majority of the time). The towels are paper thin so you might want to bring your own and they do provide you with small soaps and a shampoo. There is a fridge and a microwave with plenty of cabinet space and an additional sink, there is also a full size coffeemaker but NO coffee,sugar,creamers etc. etc. For me that was a slight dissapointment. The elevator is super slow but we didn't mind taking the stairs (without our luggages of course), overall is a great hotel but by no means is a "resort".

Room Tip: I think the 5th and 6th floor are the best heights for that "perfect" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Capes hotel is a great place for the price. My family and I have stayed at the Capes for the past 4 years. The Capes is centrally located within all the action of VA Beach. The Capes could use a few upgrades, for instance, the fridges do not get very cold, and the AC takes a while to cool down on those HOT beach days. The staff is very friendly and

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have stayed at The Capes for years and have never considered staying anywhere else. Rooms is clean, staff is friendly and location is perfect. Wi-fi in the rooms now makes it even better now and love the cafe on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginadawn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at The Capes for the first time on vacation in August 2012. Everything was perfect....the facilities were clean and spacious, the staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area and it is in the middle of all the activites! The restaurant called the Hidden Pearl is awesome as well! Great Food and fantastic staff...Everyone made me feel like I was visiing the home of a friend rather than staying at a hotel! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Pro's: Best price. Location is right on the boardwalk. Everything was within walking/biking distance. We did not have to move our car once we found parking. There's a Wendy's across the street. McDonald's is two blocks away. The beach is right outside the door. The rooms were outdated but we only used it to shower and sleep. The beds were comfortable. You don't need to pay for a Dolphin watching cruise. Just stand on your private balcony in the morning and you will see plenty of dolphins! Refrigerator and microwave saved us money on food. Plenty of free entertainment just across the street from the hotel. Decent food at their on-site restaurant.

The Cons: Housekeeping does not replenish towels unless you ask them to. Their towels are thin. Bring your own towels. The cupboards are totally empty but we know this in advance. So bring your utensils,coffee and filters, sugar,creamer,and anything you might need in the kitchen. The worst part for us was the SINGLE ELEVATOR!!!!! This might be ok in off season but in the summer it is really a hassle to wait 5-10 min utes for the elevator. Our room was on the 6th floor so climbing the steps would be really hard.

Overall we had fun and will certainly go back to the Capes next year! If you are somebody who wants the amenities of a hotel chain like room-service,full kitchen,etc. Then this is not the hotel for you. If you just want a good location with the very basic amenities and a good price, then Capes is for you. The staff were also friendly. Somebody brought up towels at 8pm when we found out we had none and there was nobody in housekeeping.

See you next year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmdc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capes Hotel

Property: Capes Hotel
Address: 2001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capes has 59 spacious, comfortable, affordable rooms, eight stories, an oceanfront cafe, refreshing indoor pool all to be enjoyed, right here on the ocean. All rooms are non-smoking offering refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The Capes offers accommodations to fit your needs, with our one room unit that includes two full size beds; or our two room unit with three full size beds and 2 tvs offering your family just the right space for a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capes Hotel Virginia Beach
Capes Virginia Beach
Capes Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing