We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome oceanfront hotel”
Review of Capes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome oceanfront hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed here the last weekend in September. It's very easy to find because it's right there off atlantic when your coming from the highway. the parking was good. I had my room on the 8th floor with a king bed. It was a nice sized room for me, clean, everything I'd expect. The view of the ocean was breath taking, All of the rooms are ocean front that's why I picked this hotel mainly because of that and the price wasn't too bad considering all the other reviews I read about this place. The bed was comfy, I enjoyed my stay very much. The boardwalk was right there, I loved it, I'd def. stay here again, well worth my time. Oh and maybe my only complaint would be that theres a door to the next room beside the bed and I could hear the man in the next room snore....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    117
    38
    18
    18
See reviews for
156
114
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Capes was the cleanest hotel i think i ever been in. The Staff is very friendly. Bed Bug Free!! The pool is open until 10pm. Oceanfront. and right across from shops, street side. quiet at night for a good nights sleep. the housekeeping service did a great job keeping up with clean sheets and towels. and even made a flower out of the washcloth. there is a small restuarant on the 1st floor called the Hidden Pearl, great food. family owned. The nightly rate was great and we even had a kitchenette to use. Thank you Capes for helping make our vacation rememberable!.

Room Tip: we had a 2 double bed room. i believe all rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was our first trip to Virginia Beach and our stay at the Capes was most pleasant. The entire hotel is clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. We stayed on the top floor and the view from our balcony was fantastic. The room was decorated nicely and was very comfortable. The wifi worked well and the elevator ran fairly quickly. My only suggestion would be for another nightstand by the bed to make it more convenient. There was only one on the balcony side of the bed. Other than that we were very pleased with our stay. My wife and I would certainly recommend The Capes to friends and would stay with them again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Cape 9/11 to 9/16 this was our second time staying here and it was just as clean and the employees very friendly. Our only complaint would be the outside door to the ocean was hard to access from outside, so we always had to walk around to get in. Loved having a micro, fridge and coffee maker in the room. Was peaceful to be able to just sit on the balcony and watch everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettie, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a nice affordable family hotel at VA beach. It is in the center of the boardwalk which is very nice. It is a smaller hotel also which was good. The cafe in the lobby wasn't extremely over priced either. The pool was very small however and parking was a bit of a pain, as it was very limited and towing of unpermitted vehicles didn't seem to be enforced. Our room was a two room unit and gave us plenty of space. The regular sized coffee pot was a nice addition as well. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had an excellent time. The hotel was extremly clean, the staff was very polite, our room was kept very clean and the Hidden Pearl restaurant had great food and bloody marys/mimosas for $1.88 all day!!!!

We will definately be back next year!!

Room Tip: I assume every room is wonderful. They are all ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zebm507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

we were v pleased withthe capes. it was understated, not glitzy and v pleasant. we would go back
Phil

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philfam367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capes Hotel

Property: Capes Hotel
Address: 2001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capes has 59 spacious, comfortable, affordable rooms, eight stories, an oceanfront cafe, refreshing indoor pool all to be enjoyed, right here on the ocean. All rooms are non-smoking offering refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The Capes offers accommodations to fit your needs, with our one room unit that includes two full size beds; or our two room unit with three full size beds and 2 tvs offering your family just the right space for a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capes Hotel Virginia Beach
Capes Virginia Beach
Capes Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing